Zonjee wins J/24 fleet at CYC Regatta

Sailors compete in the Charleston harbor during the Charleston Yacht Club Regatta Sunday July 19, 2015. Grace Beahm/Staff

Charleston Yacht Club member Maarten Zonjee and his crew had three firsts and three seconds in nine races sailed to win the closely contested J/24 fleet and earned the Southeast Regional title in the Charleston Yacht Club Regatta that wrapped up Sunday.

Zonjee finished with 18 points, edging skipper James Howard, who finished with 21 points, and skipper Ron Medlin, who finished with 22 points. Twelve J/24 s sailed in the event.

By winning the Southeast Regional, Zonjee qualified for the U.S. Sailing Adult Championships that will be held in Long Island, New York, in September.

John Bowden won the Charleston Yacht Club’s Lockwood Award and was cited for his expert sailing skills beginning at the College of Charleston. Barbara McCormick won the Women’s Trophy for her dedication and service to the sailing community for the past 20 years.

“We had 87 boats participate,” said sailing chairman Alex Bolan. “The forecast for the entire weekend was not looking that good, but for the J/24 s on Friday we had a good breeze and were able to get four races in. Saturday the win was a little light and a life shifty. Today started light but at 1:30 we got a nice afternoon sea breeze. The current definitely played a factor for the sailing.”

Other winning skippers included: Laser, Robert Key; Opti Green, Walker Hussey; Opti, Ben Labarca; 420, James Renneker; Lightning, Joe Menis; Sea Island One Design, Michael Miller; Sunfish, Brian Swan; and Open Bic, Gavin Parker.


J/24: 1-Maarten Zonjee, 5-2-1-2-1-4-2-1—18; 2-James Howard, 2-1-4-1-3-3-4-1—19; 3-Ron Medlin, 1-2-4-4-1-5-2-3—22.

Laser: 1-Robert Key (Grand Master), 1-1-1-1-1—5; 2-Michael Reddaway (Open), 2-2-2-2-2—10; 3-Collin Porter (Junior), 2-3-1-3-3—12.

Opti Green: 1-Walker Hussey, 1-1-1-1-2-1-2—9; 2-Jack Jordan, 3-2-2-4-4-4-1—20; 3-Andrew Melnik, 2-5-4-3-1-3-3—21.

Opti: 1-Ben Labarca (Red), 2-1-1-1-1-2-2—10; 2-Troy Ocean Dybowski (Red), 1-2-3-2-2-1-1—12; T3-Lucy Spearman (Blue), 1-6-6-2-6-3-3—27; T3-Zack Carajal (Blue), 4-3-4-3-5-5-3—27.

420: 1-James Renneker, 4-1-1-2—8; 2-Andrew Dodd, 3-2-4-1—10; T3-Sarah DeLoach, 1-3-3-4—11; T3-Kyle Mergenthaler, 2-4-2-3—11.

Lightning: 1-Joe Menis, 1-1-1-1-1—5; 2-Mark Marenakos, 2-1-4-3-4—14; 3-Ezra Zankel, 2-5-2-2-7—18.

Sea Island One Design: 1-Michael Miller, 1-1-1-1-1—5; 2-George Durst, 2-3-2-2-4—13; 3-Sam Gervais, 4-2-2-3-4—15.

Sunfish: 1-Brian Swan (Master), 1-1-1-1-1—5; T2-Lucas Sawin (Junior), 5-2-2-2-5—16; T2-Peter Buyck (Junior), 2-3-6-3-2—16; T4-Crawford Milling (Master), 3-4-8-2-3—20; T4-Charles Frasch (Master), 3-6-3-4-4—20.

Open Bic: 1-Gavin Parker, 1-1-1-1-1-1-1—7; 2-Neil Walters, 2-2-2-2-2-2-2—14; 3-Walter Blessing, 3-3-3-3-3-3-4—22.