Baptist Hill basketball standout Shaquiell Mitchell has been named the boys' Class A player of the year by the South Carolina Basketball Coaches Association.

Mitchell, who has signed with S.C. State, averaged 21 points, four assists, nine rebounds and three steals a game for the Bobcats, who own a 16-9 record.

Mitchell shares the award with Xavier Holmes of Great Falls.

The Lowcountry is well represented with 19 players on the eight teams.

John Ross of Burke also is All-State in Class A.

Three players were named All-State in Class AA: Darryl Palmer of Timberland, Anthony Williams of North Charleston and Shaquile Davis of Woodland. Marcus Stroman of Keenan is the Class AA player of the year.

Bryson Bell of Bluffton is All-State in Class AAA. Davaris McGowan of Eastside is the Class AAA player of the year.

Raemond Robinson of Goose Creek, Tre McLean of West Ashley and J.D. Tucker of Summerville were All-State selections in Class AAAA.

Sindarius Tornwell of Lancaster is the player of the year.

Four local girls made the Class AAAA All-State team: N'Dea Brown, Goose Creek; Jasmine Clark, Ashley Ridge; Dekeyia Cohen, West Ashley; and Deyja Brown, Colleton County.

Xylina McDaniel of Spring Valley is the player of the year.

Sabrina Drammis of Hilton Head and Tibra Wheeler of Bluffton were All-State in Class AAA. Khadijah Sessions of Myrtle Beach is the Class AA player of the year.

Katelyn Grisillo of Bishop England and Jaronna Singleton of North Charleston were All-State in Class AA. The player of the year is Madison Floyd of Broome.

Brittany Smalls of Baptist Hill and Shawana McNeil of Burke were All-State in Class A. The player of the year is Naomi Moore of C.E. Murray.