Former South Carolina baseball coach Ray Tanner and former Citadel and NFL running back Travis Jervey are representative of the balanced star power in the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame’s eight-member Class of 2013.

Tanner led the Gamecocks to national championships in 2010 and 2011. Jervey continued the success he enjoyed as a running back at Wando High School and The Citadel with an NFL career that included two Super Bowl appearances with the Green Bay Packers.

The rest of the new S.C. Athletic Hall of Fame class announced Monday includes former Clemson athletic director Bill McLellan, Clemson quarterback Homer Jordan, radio “Voice of the Tigers” Jim Phillips, South Carolina baseball slugger Hank Small, Furman basketball standout Clyde Mayes and legendary Bamberg-Ehrhardt baseball coach David Horton.

Phillips and Small will be enshrined posthumously.

The induction reception and dinner is May 13 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Tickets (table of eight for $500) and program sponsorships may be purchased by calling the SCAHOF office at (803) 779-0905.

Many other awards annually are presented at the dinner to active athletes and coaches.

Tanner in 16 seasons helped South Carolina make six College World Series appearances before moving into the school’s athletic director job last summer.

Jervey had six 100-yard rushing games at The Citadel in 1994, including a 224-yard outburst against VMI. He played in the NFL for nine seasons with the Packers, 49ers and Falcons, won a Super Bowl ring (1996) and made the Pro Bowl (1997) as a special teams player.

McLellan worked in the Clemson athletic department for 30 years. During his stretch as athletic director from 1971-85, Clemson won the 1981 national championship in football and Clemson Memorial Stadium expanded to 80,000 seats. McLellan also saw the introduction of the Tiger paw logo, IPTAY booster club donations grow from $400,000 in 1971 to $5 million in 1985, an Elite Eight basketball run in 1980 and a 1984 national title in soccer.

Jordan was the quarterback on Clemson’s 1981 national championship football team. He led the Tigers to a 12-0 record and was Offensive MVP of the 22-15 Orange Bowl victory over Nebraska.

Mayes, a 6-8 forward, averaged 17.9 points and 12.6 rebounds at Furman from 1973-75. He made the All-Southern Conference first team three times. Furman in 1974 upset South Carolina in the NCAA Tournament. Mayes played two seasons (with four teams) in the NBA.

David Horton went 840-251 over 45 seasons as baseball coach at Bamberg-Ehrhardt, setting a national record for victories. His teams won eight straight state titles (1974-81) and a total of 14 state championships. Horton’s Red Raiders players included former Major League and Gamecocks outfielder Mookie Wilson. Preston Wilson, Mookie’s stepson and a former big league outfielder, also played for Bamberg- Ehrhardt.

Follow Gene Sapakoff on Twitter @sapakoff