Staley, Peper to be honored by Hall of Fame

South Carolina head coach Dawn Staley will be honored by the S.C. Athletic Hall of Fame. (AP Photo/Brett Flashnick)

Staff report

COLUMBIA -- South Carolina women’s basketball coach Dawn Staley and former Charleston broadcaster Warren Peper will be honored by the S.C. Athletic Hall of Fame at its 55th annual banquet and induction ceremony on May 11.

Staley will receive the Willie Jeffries Ambassador for Sports Award; Peper will be awarded with the Herman Helms Media Excellence Award.

Also to be honored are Presbyterian basketball coach Gregg Nibert (the Felix “Doc” Blanchard Athlete/Citizen Award); former South Carolina football player Sonny Dickinson (the Dom Fusci Leadership Award); and the Jacobs family of Clinton (the Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship Award).

New inductees into the Hall of Fame are former Clemson running back Terry Allen; ex-USC pitcher Kip Bouknight; Lander tennis coach Joe Cabri; New England Patriots’ tight end Ben Coates; former Clemson soccer standout Bruce Murray; former Furman football coach Jimmy Satterfield; and former Spartanburg Herald-Journal sports editor, the late Les Timms.

Tickets (table of eight for $500) and program sponsorships may be purchased by calling the SCAHOF office at (803) 779-0905. The event, which includes a reception and dinner, begins at 5:30 p.m.