Soccer all-star rosters include 21 area players

Wando's Tucker Heffron (10) will play in the Clash of Carolinas all-star soccer game. Wade Spees/Staff

Charleston plays host to a pair of prep all-star soccer games in June and the rosters for both events are lined with players from the Lowcountry.

A total of 21 area seniors are listed on the initial game rosters for the North-South All-Star Classic and the Clash of the Carolinas. College of Charleston’s soccer complex at Patriots Point will host the North-South event on June 13 while Blackbaud Stadium on Daniel Island is the home of the Clash of the Carolinas, which involves all-star teams from North and South Carolina on June 27.

Wando and Academic Magnet each had six players (boys and girls) selected to the two rosters. Wando’s Tucker Heffron and Josh Masten will play on the South Carolina all-star boys team while Jonathan Milligan and Jeffrey Owens will play for the South all-stars in the North-South game.

Selections from Academic Magnet include Colton Frankel and Reece Moore on the South Carolina team, and Nick Nybo and Zach Reineke on the South all-star team.

On the girls’ South Carolina all-star team will be Wando’s Katie Leen and Raymara Barretto, along with Jessica Dooley and Becca Bosch of Academic Magnet. Chris Sacha and Caroline Smith of Academic Magnet will play in the North-South game as members of the South team.

Bishop England’s Erin Moriarty and Amelia Clower of Ashley Ridge also were selected to the South Carolina select team.

Stratford’s Tyler Tekac and James Island’s Roman Brockman will play for the South all-stars in the boys North-South game. Other members of the girls’ South roster for the North-South include Heather Blaszak (Stratford), Cassidy Govan (Ashley Ridge) and Mary Shirley (West Ashley).

James Island’s Tom Hatley was voted the Region 7-AAAA baseball coach of the year for 2015 after guiding the Trojans to the region title this spring. The league also released its all-region team as selected by the region coaches.

James Island led the way with four selections — outfielders Bo Owens and John Thelan, infielder Jackson White and pitcher Patrick Finkelstein.

Selected from Wando were pitcher Owen Ravenel, catcher Noah LoCascio and infielder Oliver Hill. West Ashley’s selections were outfielder Jordan Merritt, pitcher Anthony Vincelli and infielder Ryan McDonald.

Pitchers Jamison Mobbs and Eddie Hiott were selected from Stratford while pitcher Tanner Coleman and catcher Cam Rozal were Cane Bay’s selections.

Rounding out the all-region team are infielders Bryce Jonason and Zach Owens of Goose Creek.

Region 7-AAAA champion Wando had four players selected to the all-region softball team while head coach Steve Legette was named the region coach of the year.

Joining Legette on the all-region team are pitcher Alyssa Heinrich, catcher Kayla Bannister, outfielder Virginia Moore and infielder Amber Watson.

Region runner-up Stratford had three players named all-region — pitcher Nichole Linthicum, infielder Emily Harmon and outfielder Jordan Prince.

West Ashley’s selections include infielder Lexi Thompson, catcher Ashley Jones and infielder Katie Painter. Infielders Abby Lee and Aschlyn Hutto from Cane Bay were selected, along with infielder Kalie Berrigan and outfielder Eternal Fuller of Goose Creek.

Rounding out the all-region team are James Island outfielder Olivia Petrucci and pitcher Logan Nelson.

Bluffton’s Aaron Newland was tabbed the region 8-AAAA boys’ tennis player of the year while Summerville’s David Long was named the league’s coach of the year for 2015.