Sixteen Lowcountry players named toNorth-South all-star football game

Bishop England's DeAngelo Stephenson cheers after scoring against Academic Magnet (Grace Beahm/

Region 7-AAAA has been a football powerhouse all year with three teams ranked in the top 10 of various state polls. Undefeated Goose Creek is No. 1 in the state, while Wando and Stratford are both 9-1 and ranked in the top 10.

The region’s depth and strength were evident when the rosters for the 64th annual North-South All-Star Football Game were released Tuesday. The three schools accounted for six of the 16 players from the Lowcountry named to the South team.

Goose Creek, which has won 23 straight games, is represented by defensive tackle Mike Myers and linebacker Jalen Stevens.

That gives the Gators four players who have been selected to postseason games. Wide receiver/running back Tramel Terry and defensive end Gerald Turner were selected earlier this month to play in the Shrine Bowl.

Myers, who has committed to play for East Carolina, has 41 tackles and three sacks. He has intercepted two passes. Stevens has 114 tackles, including 65 solo. He has six sacks.

Wando’s picks are wide receiver Rudder Brown and offensive lineman Chuck Rouse.

Brown is one of the top receivers in the Lowcountry with 38 catches for 611 yards and 11 touchdowns. Rouse leads the Warriors with 29 pancake blocks.

Stratford’s selections are defensive lineman Shawn Peace and running back Noah Shuler.

Peace has 70 tackles, including 34 solo stops. He has nine tackles for a loss and two sacks. Shuler has rushed for 400 yards and has nearly 200 yards receiving.

“I think our region is as good as any in the state,” Goose Creek coach Chuck Reedy said. “When you look at the top three teams and there is a combined two losses, that’s very impressive.”

Two other Lowcountry teams, Bluffton and Georgetown, had two players picked for the game, which will be held Dec. 8 at Doug Shaw Memorial Stadium in Myrtle Beach.

Bluffton’s picks are quarterback C.J. Frazier and wide receiver Marquis Webb. Georgetown placed offensive lineman Dillon Alford and defensive end Anthony Blair on the team.

Other local players who made the team are running back DeAngelo Stephenson, Bishop England; quarterback Anthony Smalls, Hanahan; defensive back Roderick McCray, Timberland; running back Jerod Tucker, Summerville; running back Daitwan Commodore, Fort Dorchester; and defensive end Johnny Burch, St. John’s.

James Waring of St. John’s will be the head coach of the South. His assistants are Trey Woodberry of West Florence, Tim Renfrow of Socastee, Jeff Calabrese of Hartsville, Mike Donnalley of Wando and Robbie Brown of Dillon,

The North leads the series 37-25-2.

Follow Philip M. Bowman on Twitter: @pandcphil