Four Citadel football players were named to the all-Southern Conference team today, with two more making the all-freshman team in voting by the league's coaches.

Bulldogs punter Cass Couey, center Mike Sellers and defensive tackle Derek Douglas made the first team. Defensive end Chris Billingslea was named to the second team.

Citadel quarterback Aaron Miller and linebacker Rah Muhammad were named to the 25-player all-freshman team.

Wofford running back Eric Breitenstein was named offensive player of the year, with Georgia Southern defensive tackle Brent Russell earning defensive honors. Georgia Southern's Jeff Monken was named coach of the year, and GSU running back Dominique Swope and Chattanooga QB Terrell Robinson were named co-freshmen of the year.


2011 All-SoCon football team:

Offensive Player of the Year – Eric Breitenstein, Jr., RB, Wofford

Defensive Player of the Year – Brent Russell, Jr., DL, Georgia Southern

Co-Freshman of the Year – Terrell Robinson, QB, Chattanooga & Dominique Swope, RB, Georgia Southern

Jacobs Blocking Award – Nate Page, Sr., OL, Wofford

Coach of the Year – Jeff Monken, Georgia Southern

First Team Offense

QB Chris Forcier, Sr., Furman

RB Fabian Truss, So, Samford

RB Eric Breitenstein, Jr., Wofford

OL Orry Frye, Sr., Appalachian State

OL Mike Sellers, So., The Citadel

OL Ned Cuthbertson, Sr., Elon

OL Brett Moore, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL Nate Page, Sr., Wofford

TE Colin Anderson, Jr., Furman

WR Brian Quick, Sr., Appalachian State

WR Aaron Mellette, Jr., Elon


First Team Defense

DL Derek Douglas, So., The Citadel

DL Brent Russell, Jr., Georgia Southern

DL Josh Williams, Jr., Chattanooga

DL Eric Eberhardt, Sr., Wofford

LB Jeremy Kimbrough, Jr., Appalachian State

LB Ryan Consiglio, Sr., Chattanooga

LB Wes Dothard, So., Chattanooga

DB Demetrius McCray, Jr., Appalachian State

DB Ryan Steed, Sr., Furman

DB Laron Scott, Sr., Georgia Southern

DB Corey White, Sr., Samford


First Team Specialists

PK Adrian Mora, Sr., Georgia Southern

P Cass Couey, Jr., The Citadel

RS Laron Scott, Sr., Georgia Southern


Second Team Offense

QB Jaybo Shaw, Sr., Georgia Southern

RB Travaris Cadet, Sr., Appalachian State

RB Jerodis Williams, Jr., Furman

OL Dakota Dozier, So., Furman

OL Dorian Byrd, So., Georgia Southern

OL William Maxwell, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL Ryan Dudchock, Jr., Samford

OL Jake Miles, Jr., Wofford

TE Ben Jorden, Sr., Appalachian State

WR Kelsey Pope, So., Samford

WR Joel Bradford, Sr., Chattanooga


Second Team Defense

DL Ameet Pall, Sr., Wofford

DL Josh Lynn, Jr., Furman

DL Chris Billingslea, Jr., The Citadel

DL John Douglas, Sr., Georgia Southern

LB Joshua Jones, Sr., Elon

LB Kadarron Anderson, Sr., Furman

LB Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford

DB Troy Sanders, Jr., Appalachian State

DB D.J. Key, So., Chattanooga

DB Chris Lewis-Harris, Sr., Chattanooga

DB Kadeem Wise, So., Chattanooga


Second Team Specialists

PK Cameron Yaw, Jr., Samford

P Sam Martin, Jr., Appalachian State

RS Fabian Truss, So., Samford