Mayor Riley speaks for a grieving city

Charleston Mayor Joe Riley talks with the media Tuesday morning as Charleston Police Chief Mullen watches. Nine firefighters with the Charleston Fire Department died Monday evening while battling a fire at the Sofa Super Store on Savannah Highway.

James Island -- Over 100 sailboats took to the waters of Charleston Harbor to compete in the annual James Island Yacht Club Regatta on Saturday.

Racing started in the early afternoon in very light wind, and as the racing progressed, the wind got even lighter as storm systems inland ate up the breeze.

"We definitely felt the lack of wind out there all day," one sailor remarked as he put his boat up for the day.

"It was probably 5-10 at the start," said local sailmaker Peter Durst, who competed on the Sea Island One Design Dog House. "But it got lighter than that."

Mott Blair came down from Wilmington, N.C., to compete in the Laser class.

"We had a big fleet and light wind, but we had a wonderful time," he said. "The weather held off so we were able to sail. The current here in the harbor sure takes a lot of getting used to though."

Eleven boats competed in the MC Scow class, in which Mark Marenakos holds a one-point lead over Will Sloger after two races.

Sunfish World Champion David Loring, who also races an MC Scow, won the first race, and was leading race two when he sailed into a wind hole and took a seventh-place finish. George Scarborough is in third overall.

The Y Flyer class includes Alana O'Reilly, former collegiate sailor of the year at the College of Charleston and current assistant sailing coach at Georgetown University, home competing in the club where she learned to sail.

There is a three-way tie for first between Karen Dial of Columbia and local sailors John Parker and Matt Moore.

The E Scow class sailed three races, with Brian Zimmerman scoring 3-1-1 to sit in first place.

The Sea Island One Design class had all eight existing boats competing, and Jonathan Hiers on Dog House went 1-1 for the lead over second place Stan LaRoche on Marcheta, who went 2-2.

JIYC Regatta Leaders

SIOD: Jonathan Hiers. E Scow: Brion Zimmermon. MC Scow: Mark Marenakos. Flyer Fleet: Matt Moore. Club 420: Nancy Hagood. Laser: John Melhnik. Laser Radial: 1. Conner Aker. Snipe: David Muhlhausen. Masters: Rick Whitehurst. Senior: Peter Rupp. Sunfish Jr: Andrew Bates. 420: Stephanie Sykora.

Midget: Joe Sanders. Opti Red: Patrick Mazzeo. Opti White: Knylyn Gise. Opti Blue: Cameron Gise. Opti Green: Austin Ando.