Ray Tanner, Les Robinson to be honored

Ray Tanner

South Carolina baseball coach Ray Tanner and former Citadel athletic director Les Robinson will be honored at the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame next month in Columbia.

Tanner, who guided the Gamecocks to their first NCAA national championship in 2010, will receive the inaugural Willie Jeffries Ambassador Award.

Robinson will be recognized with the annual Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship Award.

In addition, the Shrine Centers of the Carolinas will be recognized with the Felix "Doc" Blanchard Service to Sports Award and Ron Morris, sports columnist for The State newspaper, will be honored with the inaugural Herman Helms Media Excellence Award.

They will be recognized along with the new inductees of the Hall of Fame during the 51st annual banquet, which is set for May 23 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center.

Being enshrined this year are South Carolina's Brad Edwards, who won a Super Bowl ring with the Washington Redskins, and Clemson's Chester McGlockton, who earned All-Pro honors with the Oakland Raiders.

The Class of 2011 also consists of Finis Horne, Lander University's longtime director of athletics and basketball coach; legendary Greenville coach Joe Mathis; Gene Moore, who played football and baseball at Clemson; University of South Carolina graduate and longtime Gamecock Club director Ed Pitts; and Army All-American and College Football Hall of Famer Arnold Tucker.

Mathis and Moore will be enshrined posthumously.

Tickets (table of eight for $500) and program sponsorships may be purchased by calling the SCAHOF office at (803) 779-0905.

The event, which includes a reception, dinner and a raffle, begins at 5:30 p.m.