Miller, Flounder take top spot in Rockville Regatta

Sea Island One Design sailboats crews battle for position on Bohicket Creek during the Rockville Regatta Sunday. (Brad Nettles/

The newest of the nine Sea Island One Design sailboats took the top spot in the feature class of the 124th annual Rockville Regatta.

Michael Miller skippered Flounder, built in 2011, to first place in three out of the four races contested Saturday and Sunday on the Bohicket and North Edisto rivers.

Skipper Jonathan Hiers' crew had three second-place finishes aboard Doghouse to take second while Stan LaRoche and Marcheta took third with a win in the third race.

The event was plagued by rainy weather but had 35 boats sail in five classes in the regatta held out of Sea Island Yacht Club.

Mark Saunders won all the races in the classic Moth fleet; Ned Goss was the winning skipper in the Y-Flyer fleet; Will Hanckel took first in E-Scows; and Randall Stoney Jr. was the winning Sunfish skipper.

Miller received the annual Daniel Wordsworth Ellis Memorial Trophy that goes to the SIOD that has the best overall finish throughout the series.

LaRoche made a special presentation to Van Smith for his efforts in revitalizing the SIOD Class by building the Privateer in 1989. LaRoche also presented an award to SIOD Class president Grayson Carter for his dedication to the class.


Sea Island One Design: 1. Michael Miller, 6; 2. Jonathan Hiers, 13; 3. Stan LaRoche, 18.

Moth: 1. Mark Saunders, 4; 2. Brian Swan, 10; 3. Lewis Hay, 12.

Y-Flyer: 1. Ned Goss, 5; 2. Sammy Hodges, 9; 3. Bill Hanckel, 12.

E-Scow: 1. Will Hanckel, 6; 2. Walter Prause, 11; 3. Eli Putnam, 14.

Sunfish: 1. Randall Stoney Jr., 6; 2. Woody Norwood, 16; 3. Edward Parker, 16.