McKissick leads inaugural class in S.C. Coaches Hall of Fame

Summerville coach John McKissick will be in the inaugural class of the S.C. Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame. (Paul Zoeller/Staff)

Summerville's John McKissick, the all-time leader in career victories in high school football, will lead the inaugural class inducted into the S.C. Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

McKissick, 87, has won 613 games and 10 state championships as he heads into his 63rd season as the Green Wave's head coach, and is the only member of the class still coaching.

The nine-member inaugural class has combined to win 2,733 games and 46 state titles. The induction ceremony for the class will be Dec. 12 at the Landmark Hotel in Myrtle Beach.

Other inductees:

Bob Rankin, who won 313 games in 41 seasons from 1962-2002 at Marion, Dillon, Berkeley and Johnsonville.

Paul Chapman, who coached 21 of his 22 seasons at Dillon and won 179 games and seven region titles from 1969-89.

Julius "Pinky" Babb, who coached 38 years at Greenwood (1943-1981) and won 346 games and eight state championships.

Keith Richardson, who coached 24 years at Clinton (1969-1992) and won 241 games and six state championships.

Doug Shaw, who coached 25 years at Myrtle Beach (1970-1994) and won 223 games and four state championships, making the playoffs in 23 of 25 seasons.

Thomas L. Smith Sr., who coached 26 years (from 1958-1984) at Howard High School in Georgetown, winning 250 games and three state titles.

Joe Turbeville, who coached 28 seasons at Winnsboro, Spring Valley and Irmo from 1965-1984, winning 239 games and five state titles.

Willie Varner, who coached 42 years and won 383 games and 10 state titles at Woodruff from 1954-1996.