Jakaitis named ECHL MVP

Jeff Jakaitis compiled a 58-25-9 record during his three seasons with the South Carolina Stingrays. He was named the ECHL's MVP in 2015. Paul Zoeller/Staff

The awards continue to roll in for South Carolina Stingrays goalie Jeff Jakaitis.

One day after being named the ECHL’s Goalie of the Year, Jakaitis took home the league’s most valuable player honors on Friday.

Jakaitis becomes the second Stingrays goaltender to earn the award in the last three seasons. Stingrays forward and team captain Andrew Rowe finished fourth in the MVP voting.

Chad Costello of Allen finished second, followed by Idaho’s Wade MacLeod, Rowe and Fort Wayne’s Shawn Szydlowski.

Jakaitis, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week and received the ECHL Goaltender of the Year award for the third time in his career Thursday, rewrote the ECHL record book during the 2014-15 season. Over the course of the Stingrays’ ECHL-record 23-game winning streak from Feb. 7-March 27, Jakaitis went 15-0-0 with four shutouts, a 1.67 goals-against average and a save percentage of .937.

The Rochester, Minn., native set a league record with four consecutive shutouts from March 7-20, his 321:46 shutout streak set both an ECHL and a minor league professional hockey record and fell just 10:16 shy of the modern-era pro hockey record set by Brian Boucher of the Phoenix Coyotes during the 2003-04 season.

Jakaitis also established an ECHL record with a 16-game personal winning streak from Feb. 15-April 2 and posted a record of 17-1-0 in his final 18 decisions this season. He was part of a Stingrays goaltending group including Adam Morrison and Keegan Asmundson that posted 12 shutouts this season, setting a new ECHL record.

Jakaitis led the ECHL with a 1.96 goals-against average and seven shutouts, which is tied for the second most in a single-season in ECHL history. His 23 career shutouts are just two behind Marc Magliarditi for the all-time league record. Jakaitis finished the season second in the league with a .924 save percentage and was sixth with 26 wins.