Jakaitis named ECHL Goalie of the Year

The Stingrays’ Jeff Jakaitis was named the ECHL Goalie of the Year for the second straight season. Paul Zoeller/Staff

South Carolina Stingrays goaltender Jeff Jakaitis was named the ECHL Goaltender of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Jakaitis, 31, becomes the first goalie in ECHL history to win the award three times.

Jakaitis won the award in 2011-12 while with the Gwinnett Gladiators and last season with the Stingrays. The accomplishment also marks the third consecutive season that a Stingrays goaltender has captured the award after Ryan Zapolski won in 2012-13 and the fourth time in the last six seasons following Todd Ford in 2009-10.

Jeff Lerg of the Toledo Walleye finished second, followed by South Carolina’s Adam Morrison, Garret Sparks of the Orlando Solar Bears and the Idaho Steelheads’ Olivier Roy.

Jakaitis, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led the ECHL with a 1.96 goals-against average and seven shutouts, which is tied for the second most in a single season in ECHL history. He finished the season second in the league with a .924 save percentage and was sixth with 23 wins.

“This is not something that you do alone,” Jakaitis said. “The guys in front of me have done a great job all season. I’ve been fortunate enough to play in front of some great teams, and this year’s team is up there with the best of them.”

A native of Rochester, Minn., Jakaitis set three ECHL records during the season as he posted four consecutive shutouts from March 7-20, went 321:46 without allowing a goal and won 16 consecutive contests from Feb. 15 to April 2.