Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
top story

Wando girls win state AAAAA lacrosse title; Wando boys fall short

Wando girls 2023 state champions lacrosse

Wando High School won the 2023 Class AAAAA girls state lacrosse championship on April 29, 2023, in Irmo. David Shelton photo

IRMO – Wando’s girls lacrosse team found a way to repeat as the Class AAAAA state champions, but it wasn’t easy.

A goal by Cassie Frye, her fifth of the contest, with 28 seconds left in regulation lifted the Warriors to a 15-14 win over J.L. Mann in the title matchup at Irmo High School on Saturday night.

Wando then survived a hectic finish that saw Mann get off two shots on goal in the final seven seconds to record the win. The final score was indicative of the contest throughout as neither team held more than a two goal advantage in the game.

“This is exactly what you want a championship game to be, back and forth, to the end,” Wando coach Ed Reckdenwald said. “Two excellent teams just battling it out. Great job by J.L. Mann. But we showed great composure at the end. It took everything that we had to win.”

Holding a 12-10 lead after Kelsey Bennett’s goal with 18:38 remaining in the game, Wando spread the field and ran several minutes off the clock. But J.L. Mann scored two goals in a :40 second span to knot the score at 12 with 14 minutes remaining.

The Patriots took a 13-12 lead two minutes later by Wando responded with a goal by Chrissy Mallon to tie it at 13. After Mann grabbed another one goal advantage, Mallon tied it again with 9:12 remaining. From there, Wando slowed the pace again and the plan worked.

“We called a timeout and talked about playing for one and it worked out,” he said. “It was back and forth and two great teams should be that way. It’s great to see things turn out the way we had hoped.”

Mallon finished with four goals while Cassie Frye scored five times for the Warriors. Maggie Parkin and Bennett each scored twice.

“This has been a dream come true. It is a feeling I cannot describe, Bennett said. “It’s my senior year, my last year. I am so excited, so happy. These girls are so hard-working. I am going to miss this team so much.”

Sophomore goalie Brooke Gentry, a first-year starter, survived the late pressure by Mann.

“I just had a mindset that I was going to get a ring. I wasn’t going to be the reason that we lost state,” she said.

Wando’s boys team at Irmo Saturday night also was seeking a repeat championship against a Nation Ford program they beat in last year’s finals. This time around, a more experienced Nation Ford squad was the victor, winning a closely contested matchup, 13-10.

Wando led only briefly in the contest, 6-5, midway through the second quarter. Nation Ford grabbed an 8-6 lead by halftime and never trailed again. Garrett Mayer scored four goals to pace Wando. Luke Moore and Sean Carroll each tallied two scores.

“This entire season, from day one, was about growth and improvement,” said Wando coach Lance Renes, who has led Wando to seven state titles. “Getting to this point, to the finals, was a big part of that growth. We have a lot of underclassmen on this team so the growth we experienced this season will help us in the future. Hopefully we can make another run next year. That’s always the goal.”

Earlier Saturday at Irmo, Oceanside Collegiate won the state AAAA girls championship and Lucy Beckham won the state AAAA boys title.

High school playoff schedules

Baseball playoffs

AAAAA (May 2)

Ashley Ridge at Wando

Sumter at West Ashley

Stratford at River Bluff

Fort Dorchester at Berkeley

Conway at Summerville

Cane Bay at St. James

AAAA (May 1)

Irmo at James Island

Colleton County at Richland NE

AAA (May 2)

Orangeburg-Wilkinson at Hanahan

Philip Simmons at Dreher

AA (May 2)

Lee Central at Bishop England

Academic Magnet at Wade Hampton

Kingstree at Oceanside Collegiate

Timberland at Woodland

A (May 2)

Charleston Math & Science at Bamberg-Ehrhardt

Hemingway at St. John’s


May 1

Porter-Gaud at Laurence Manning

First Baptist at Trinity-Collegiate

St. John’s Christian at Patrick Henry

May 2

Pinewood Prep at Cardinal Newman

Softball playoffs

AAAAA (May 3)

Fort Dorchester at Wando

Carolina Forest at Ashley Ridge

Stratford at Chapin

West Ashley at Berkeley

River Bluff at Summerville

Cane Bay at Sumter

AAAA (May 2)

Ridge View at James Island

Lucy Beckham at Westwood

AAA (May 3)

Dreher at Hanahan

Philip Simmons at Gilbert

AA (May 3)

Kingstree at Timberland

Lee Central at Oceanside Collegiate

A (May 3)

Charleston Math & Science at Johnsonville

St. John’s at East Clarendon

Hemingway at Palmetto Scholars

Boys Tennis (May 1)


Summerville at Wando


Lucy Beckham at Hilton Head

James Island at Myrtle Beach


Dreher at Philip Simmons


Mid-Carolina at Oceanside Collegiate

Governors School at Academic Magnet

Bishop England at Christ Church

Boys Soccer (May 1)


Fort Dorchester at Carolina Forest

West Ashley at Stratford

St. James at Stall

Cane Bay at Chapin

Summerville at Wando

White Knoll at Ashley Ridge

Berkeley at Sumter


Lucy Beckham at North Myrtle Beach


Gilbert at Philip Simmons

Hanahan at Brookland-Cayce


Timberland at Ridgeland-Hardeeville

Barnwell at Woodland

Girls Soccer (May 2)


Fort Dorchester at Cane Bay

Conway at Ashley Ridge

Stratford at River Bluff

Summerville at Wando

Dutch Fork at West Ashley

Goose Creek at Carolina Forest


Hanahan at Dreher

TBA at Philip Simmons


Woodland at Mid-Carolina

Bridges Prep at Academic Magnet

Similar Stories