Havens, Swails, Hoffman voted into Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame

USC's Reese Havens throws back to first base as he jumps over The Citadel's Tripp Cappelmann to complete the double play in third inning action at Riley Park on May 9, 2006. (Mic Smith/File)

Former South Carolina shortstop Reese Havens, former Citadel infielder Billy Swails Jr. and longtime umpire David Hoffman have been voted into the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2014 will be enshrined at the Aug. 15 Charleston RiverDogs-Rome Braves game at Riley Park.

Havens and Swails were selected by voting by fans while Hoffman was chosen by the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame Committee.

Havens was a three-year starter at South Carolina from 2006-08. He had 215 career hits, currently 18th most in school history. Havens hit .298 for his career with 27 homers and 140 RBIs. As a junior in 2008, he earned third-team All-America honors and second-team All-SEC recognition. Havens was picked in the first round of the 2008 MLB Draft as the No. 22 overall selection by the New York Mets. Havens retired from professional baseball in January after a series of injuries.

Hoffman began his umpiring career at Parks Field in Summerville in 1974 and coached Little League for two years before deciding to move to umpiring with a career lasting from 1974-2013. He called more than 4,000 college, high school and summer games in his career. Hoffman has umpired the NAIA Regional 6 Tournament, the Southern Conference Tournament and the Big South Tournament. He also has called two NCAA Division II Regionals and the Division II World Series in 1989, 1991 and 1996.

Swails is a Mount Pleasant native who was enshrined in The Citadel Athletic Hall of Fame in 2003. A three-time member of the All-Southern Conference team as a second baseman, Swails earned a spot as a member of the American Baseball Coaches Association All-America Team in 1989. He is a member of the Class of 1989.

The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame is coordinated and operated by the Charleston RiverDogs. An advisory committee consisting of knowledgeable and local volunteers was created to come up with the names as potential nominees and is always open to suggestions.

The Hall of Fame, located at Riley Park, includes the following inductees:

2013 - Steven Jackson, Drew Meyer, Britt Reames.

2012 - Gettys Glaze, Tom Hatley, John Rhodes.

2011 - Bill Ackerman, Roberto Alomar, Mike Kimbrell.

2010 - Lee Glaze, Fred Jordan, D.K. Walters, Kenny Wilkinson.

2009 - John Dodds, Jr., W.S. "Bull" Durham, Donald Morillo, Doug Pounder.

2008 - Bryce Florie, Danny Jones, Charley Smith, Richard Wieters.

2007 - 1955 Cannon Street YMCA All-Star Team, 1990 Citadel World Series Team, Anthony Jenkins, Modie Risher.

2006 - Ty Cline, Mike Cook, Gary McJunkin, Chal Port.

2005 - John Candelaria.

2004 - David Cone.

2003 - Willie Randolph, Gorman Thomas.

Follow Gene Sapakoff on Twitter @sapakoff