Hanckel breezes to victory

As several classes of boats approach a marker Sunday, captains drop their spinnakers to make sharp turns during Carolina Yacht Club Open Regatta races on Charleston Harbor.

Sailors had a long day of racing on Saturday in big breezes, and on Sunday the breeze was still present, providing conditions that were near-perfect for E-Scow sailing, but maybe a bit much for the Opti Green sailors.

Needless to say, everyone was tuckered out after spending a beautiful weekend on the water for the Carolina Yacht Club Open Regatta.

The E-Scow fleet was won by Will Hanckel, who had three first-place finishes Saturday in what some called “survival conditions.”

The largest fleet was the Laser Class with 18 boats and was won by Rob Bowden. The stacked Lightning class, which had 16 boats, was won by Pierce Barden of Wrightsville Beach, N.C. David O’Reilly tied Nancy Hagood for second and won the tiebreaker.

On Course C, the overall Optimist winner was Thomas Smith.

John Seibels was presented the Henry Clay Robertson Trophy by Peter Hogan. The trophy is given to the best all-around youth sailor in Charleston.

“I love sailing, and although my family is not into competitive sailing, they have always supported me.” said Seibels.

Derrill Hagood was presented the Philip O’Neill Hanvey Memorial Trophy by her sister, Nancy. The award is given to a young sailor who exemplifies the behaviors that Phillip Hanvey had: integrity, sportsmanship, competitiveness, and a deep love for sailing.

Said Derrill Hagood: “My experiences growing up sailing at CYC have had a positive impact on my life.”

After the awards were presented, Hagood and Seibels were carried out of the club by past recipients of the trophies for the traditional toss off the dock.


E-Scow: 1. Will Hanckel (13) 2. Ed Durant (17) 3. Walter Prause (19).

Lightning: 1. Pierce Barden (14) 2. David O’Reilly (20) 3. Nancy Hagood (20).

Y-Flyer: 1. Craig Bennett (9) 2. Carlin Hodges (13) 2. Clint Hodges (17).

SIOD: 1. Stan LaRoche (14) 2. Stephen Hayneworth (17) 3. Michael Miller (26).

Snipe: 1. Hal Gilreath (5) 2. Chris Stand (13) 3. Mike Palazzo (16).

Sunfish Master: 1. David Parshall (6) 2. Brian Swan (16) 3. Greg Walters (23).

Sunfish Junior: 1. Alex Jones (29) 2. Marc DeLoach (35) 3. Ellinor Walters (50).

Laser: 1. Rob Bowden (12) 2. Daniel Birmingham (16) 3. Rolfe Glover (18).

420: 1. Robert Morrow (12) 2. Reid Kaplan (14) 3. Lizzy Walters (23).

Opti Red: 1. Thomas Smith (11) 2. Christopher Sprunt (22) 3. Christopher Zack (47).

Opti Blue: 1. Chase Carraway (45) 2. Ross Sizemore (53) 3. Jamie Renneker (58).

Opti White: 1. Neil Walters (89) 2. Noah Myers (92) 3. Lucas Sawin (92).

Opti Green: Jack McKenzie, Drew Owens, Lizzie Hughes, Charlton Lowndes, Benjamin Smith, Cole Vaupel, Camp Hagood, Gavin Parker, Hutson Collins, Coles Buyck, Metz Prause, South Wallace, Francis Hagood, Zachary Blais.