Gamecocks’ Dantzler picks up honor

South Carolina senior LB Dantzler earned third-team All-America honors at designated hitter by Baseball America.

Dantzler was the Gamecocks’ leading hitter this season with a .322 average (69-for-214) with 15 homers and 53 RBIs.

Dantzler was drafted in the 14th round by the Toronto Blue Jays last week. He was also named Capital One Academic All-American of the Year and was Carolina’s male nominee for the 2012-13 H. Boyd McWhorter Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He is one of 10 finalists for the Senior CLASS Award as well.

Dantzler is the second Gamecock to earn All-America honors this year. Earlier this month, senior left-hander Tyler Webb picked up third-team honors from Collegiate Baseball. The Gamecocks also had a pair of freshmen pick up Freshman All-America honors with left-hander Jack Wynkoop (7-3, 3.09 ERA) honored by Collegiate Baseball and second baseman Max Schrock (.282-6-39) selected by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.

Former Citadel catcher Joe Jackson earned his second All-America honor with his selection to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association third team.

Jackson was a fifth-round draft choice by the Texas Rangers last weekend and will begin his professional career as a member of the short season Spokane Indians in the Northwest League when their season begins on Friday.

The South Carolina Stingrays received forward Justin Maylan from the Stockton Thunder. The transaction completes the future considerations portion of the Cam Brodie/Shawn Weller trade made on Jan. 25.

Maylan, 22, skated in 49 games last season, scoring 18 goals with 22 assists for 40 points.

Stingrays assistant coach J.B. Bittner accepted a similar job with the Tri-City Storm of the U.S. Hockey League.

Behind the bench for the last two seasons with the Stingrays, Bittner helped head coach Spencer Carbery guide the team to a 75-54-9-6 record and berths in the 2012 and 2013 Kelly Cup Playoffs. Before moving to South Carolina, Bittner spent three seasons as an assistant coach and video coordinator with Ohio State.

Mary Janiga of Wellington, Fla., and Megan Turnquest of Loxahatchee, Fla., shot 1-under 71 for a two-day score of 140 and won the Bell-McIntire division of the LPGA-USGA Girls Golf Team Championship played at Kiawah Island Club’s River Course.

Janiga and Turnquest received their trophies from Hall of Fame golfer Nancy Lopez and will have their names inscribed on the Bell-McIntire perpetual trophy.

Hannah Foster of Hobe Sound, Fla., and Haylie Turnquest of Loxahatchee, Fla., won the Sandy LaBauve division with a 36-hole score of 145. Haley Quickel of Middleton, Del., and Essie Rike of Myrtle Beach shot 174 to win the Vickie Hurst division.

The LPGA-USGA Girls Golf Team Championship was a 36-hole team competition with girls placed into three “divisions” based on age and ability.

Clemson redshirt junior Brianna Rollins was named National Women’s Track Athlete of the Year for the 2013 outdoor season, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced.

Arizona high jumper Brigetta Barrett was named the organization’s National Women’s Field Athlete of the Year.

Rollins established NCAA records in the 100 hurdles in both the semifinals and final, running respective times of 12.47 and 12.39. She captured her third NCAA national championship in the hurdles, her first outdoor crown. Rollins’ 12.39 also broke the facility record at the University of Oregon’s Hayward Field — the site of the last two U.S. Olympic Trials and multiple USA Championships as well.

It was the second-fastest time run by an American on U.S. soil. She is the fourth fastest American performer and tied for ninth in IAAF world history.

Rollins is the first ACC female athlete to win the award since it was first presented in 2006.