Dakereon Joyner, football player of the year

Fort Dorchester quarterback Dakereon Joyner, The Post and Courier's 2016 All-Lowcountry football player of the year, is one of five finalists for the South Carolina Mr. Football Award to be announced Saturday. File/Staff

The South Carolina Football Coaches Association will announce the winner of the 2017 Mr. Football Award at halftime of Saturday’s North-South high school football all-star game at Myrtle Beach High.

Fort Dorchester quarterback Dakereon Joyner is among the five finalists for the award. Joyner wrapped up his playing career with 9,745 passing yards and 3,324 rushing yards, combining for 157 touchdowns. He was a full-time starter for three seasons and played in several games as a freshman.

In three seasons as a starter, Joyner led the Patriots to a 40-3 record and three appearances in the Lower State finals. Fort Dorchester finished 15-0 and won the Class AAAA state title in 2015. The Patriots lost to Dutch Fork in the Class AAAAA Lower State final, ending their 2017 season with a 13-1 record.

Other finalists for the award include Newberry running back Amir Abrams, Chapman quarterback Colton Bailey, Spring Valley linebacker Channing Tindall and Spartanburg linebacker Connor Shugart.

Region 7-AAAAA honors

Region 7-AAAAA has announced all-region honors for the 2017 fall sports season. In football, region champion Fort Dorchester led the way with seven selections. Fort Dorchester selections include receiver Raquan Simmons, defensive back Dazjon Casto, linebackers K.J. Brown and Jonathan Parker, running back Drew Parker, and defensive linemen R.J. Cobb and D.J. Evans. Joyner was named the region player of the year and Fort Dorchester head coach Steve LaPrad was the coach of the year.

Summerville football selections include quarterback Johnathan Bennett, receivers Andre Banks and Olin McCurry, offensive lineman Jackson Hutto, linebacker Deonte Geddis and defensive tackle Ben Mitchum.

The West Ashley selections are quarterback Kenyatta Jenkins, defensive lineman Jay Smith, linebacker Kamden Middleton and offensive lineman D Smith. From Ashley Ridge, all-region picks include defensive back Hombre Kennedy, quarterback Matthew Duncan, linebacker Rodney Oldham, running back Nick Cunningham and defensive lineman Jaheem President.

Wando’s all-region selections are linebacker Jaxen Rogers, placekicker Andrew Weil and receiver Conner McCarthy. Stratford's picks are running back Mario Anderson and lineman Katray Pringle, while Goose Creek’s selections are defensive back Anthony Martin and defensive lineman Keshawn Mays.

James Island linebacker Germonta Brisbane rounds out the all-region team.

Wando’s Keeghan Andrews was named the region’s volleyball player of the year and Wando coach Alexis Glover was the coach of the year. Joining Andrews on the all-region team from Wando are Lexi Hellberg and Karen Majewski.

Hailey Ryan, Meredith Eldredge, and Ashlynn Moseley represented James Island on the all-region team, while Katy Torgerson and Gabby Milo were named from Ashley Ridge.

Alexandra King and Amanda Detyens are West Ashley’s selections while Jadon Nelson and Kailynn Driggers are Stratford’s picks.

Rounding out the volleyball list are Elizabeth Yohe of Summerville and JaNyya Burton of Fort Dorchester.

In girls tennis, James Island’s John Eppelsheimer was voted coach of the year and James Island’s Gigi Hinson was the player of the year. Ashton Loring also received all-region honors from James Island.

Wando led the list with three players — Abby Sinclaire, Kelsey Sinclaire and Emma Chadwick. Ashley Ridge selections include Katlyn Schmedeke and Arianna Brim while Summerville’s picks are Paige Reynolds and Sullivan Long.

Kyleigh Gregg and Elizabeth Sivertsen are Stratford’s selections, and Madison Clayton of West Ashley rounds out the list.

Wando’s Regan Clifford is the player of the year in girls golf while James Cate of Stratford is the coach of the year. Lily Joyce of Wando is also all-region while region champion Fort Dorchester placed Lauren Fix, CeCe Knecht and Anna Walsh on the all-region team.

Grace Zoller of Ashley Ridge and Olivia Erwin of James Island also earned all-region honors.

In swimming, Wando’s Chase Collier is the boys swimmer of the year while Fort Dorchester’s Abbie Hassell earned the girls swimmer of the year honor. Coaches of the year are Allyson Brown (boys) and Cheryl Durden (girls), both of Wando.

Wando’s Patrick Spychalski and Lily Heinold are the Region 7-AAAAA players of the year in boys and girls cross country, respectively. Coaches of the year are Kelly Hazel of Summerville and Jennifer Emerson of Wando.

In cheerleading, Wando’s Tyler Smith is the coach of the year. Wando’s selections include Becca Woodard, Madi Jefferson, Alex Crockett and Delaney Brandt.

Fort Dorchester’s selections include Ashlynn Granger, Alexis Brigman, Ashlyn Simmons and Makenna Medgyesy. From Summerville, all-region picks are Haley Hooands, Madison McCall and Bethany Speciale.

Rounding out the all-region list are Amber Caulk and Taylor Connelly of Stratford, along with Jordan Branham and Xena Williams of Ashley Ridge.

Fort Dorchester and Wando were region co-champions this fall.

We're improving out commenting experience.

We’ve temporarily removed comments from articles while we work on a new and better commenting experience. In the meantime, subscribers are encouraged to join the conversation at our Post and Courier Subscribers group on Facebook.