Feaster wins Mr. Football


Spartanburg standout running back Tavien Feaster was named the winner of the 2015 Mr. Football in South Carolina award Thursday night in Columbia. Feaster was one of five finalists for the award along with Fort Dorchester lineman John Simpson, quarterback Logan Bailey of Chapin, receiver Bryan Edwards of Conway and quarterback Collin Hill of Dorman.

This season, Feaster has rushed for 1,061 yards and 10 touchdowns, and has 53 catches for 846 yards and 10 touchdowns. Feaster is a Clemson commitment and a Shrine Bowl and U.S. Army All American Game selection.

Also Thursday night the South Carolina Football Coaches Association honored 25 players and 10 coaches at the annual Palmetto Champions All-Star Football Banquet. The event recognized athletic excellence in all classifications across the state.

From the list of honorees, several overall awards were announced live at the banquet including:

Back of the Year Austin Scott, Spartanburg

Lineman of the Year John Simpson, Fort Dorchester

Specialist of the Year Matthew Gravely, Pickens

Coach of the Year

Chris Miller, Spartanburg

Distinguished Service Awards

Coach Willie Jeffries, S.C. State

Robbie Liles, Director of Recruiting Operations-USC