ETSU, Mercer accept SoCon invitations; VMI will on Friday

VMI is one of three schools formally invited to join the Southern Conference today. (File photo)

Tyrone Walker

The Southern Conference has formally invited Mercer, East Tennessee State and VMI to join the league, SoCon officials announced today.

The SoCon is holding its spring meetings in Hilton Head, where the league’s council of presidents voted today to invite the three new members.

A league official said ETSU and Mercer have accepted the invitations; VMI will do so Friday.

The three schools will join the league in 2014-15. Mercer, a current member of the Atlantic Sun, has a news conference scheduled for today.

ETSU also is in the Atlantic Sun, and VMI is in the Big South.

The SoCon has lost five schools -- Davidson, Georgia Southern, Appalachian State, Elon and College of Charleston -- in recent months.

App State and Georgia Southern are joining the Sun Belt in order to play FBS football, while Elon and College of Charleston are moving to the Colonial Athletic Association. Davidson will join the Atlantic 10.

Read more in Friday’s Post and Courier.