CSU’s Swan pads lead at City Am


Jarrett Swan had a bogey-free round of 70 on Saturday and increased his lead to three shots heading into today’s final round of the 63rd Charleston City Amateur golf championship at Municipal Golf Course.

Swan is at 7-under-par 137. Matt Laydon is second at 140 after an even-par round of 72. Scotty Davis is third at 69-73—142, while seven players are tied for fourth at even-par 144.

“I didn’t make any bogeys. That’s the first time I’ve ever done that in a tournament,” said Swan, who just completed his sophomore season playing for Charleston Southern.

Swan, who finished second to Bert Atkinson in last year’s City Amateur, got his two birdies out of the way quickly, birdieing the par-5 second and par-4 third holes.

He said there were places he could have made bogeys but he managed to overcome any problems.

“Rickey Sullivan (the head instructor at the Ranch at Bulls Bay) told me I was swinging well and there was no reason not to go out and play well. Just be patient and I was,” Swan added.

Laydon, the 2012 South Carolina Amateur Match Play champion, bogeyed his first hole of the day, No. 10, then parred his way until finally making his only birdie of the round at the par-3 third hole.

A field of 180 golfers is competing in the 54-hole tournament. All golfers are scheduled to start off the first tee for today’s final round with the leaders starting at approximately 2:30 p.m.


Jarrett Swan 67-70—137

Matthew Laydon 68-72—140

Scotty Davis 69-73—142

William Taylor 71-73—144

Andy Gianoukos 73-71—144

David Foster 71-73—144

Frank Ford III 71-73—144

David Eller Jr. 71-73—144

Christian Sease 72-72—144

Daniel Sloan 73-71—144

Tadd Brown 70-75—145

Chris Calabrese 75-70—145

Steve Agazzi 73-72—145

Lushen Evans 72-73—145

Kyle Hayworth 75-70—145

Matt Metz 76-69—145

Grant Waggoner 72-74—146

Gordon Williams 72-74—146

Patrick Mallard 74-72—146

Ross Thomson 74-72—146

Rich Bundschuh 74-72—146

Matt Wood 75-72—147

Garris Killingsworth 77-70—147

Cam Wills 76-71—147

Kevin Driggers 73-74—147

Jimmy Hyams 75-72—147

Taylor Zoller 74-73—147

Bart Branan 73-75—148

Kent Hall 74-74—148

Jeff Emory 71-77—148

Winn Tutterow 80-69—149

Kellen McClain 78-71—149

Jeff Chapa 73-76—149

Brian Phillips 74-75—149

Jason Clatworthy 76-73—149

Rodney Hancock 75-75—150

Mike Harrison 76-74—150

Daniel Booher 76-75—151

Nick Avery 81-70—151

T.A. Fulmer 74-77—151

Patrick Harrington 75-76—151

John Ebersole 76-75—151

Blake Maull 77-74—151

Paul Van Zutphen 73-78—151

Jonathan Smith 78-73—151

Bradley Lipsmeyer 74-77—151

Travis Williams 71-80—151