The Charleston Southern 4x200-meter relay team of Javon Young, Levi Brooks, Cornelius Tyler and Dantwan Spreads earned the Big South Conference Men's Indoor Track Athletes of the Week award after narrowly missing the all-time collegiate record over the weekend.

The CSU quartet ran the world's fastest time this season in the 4x200-meter relay as they clocked in at 1 minute, 25.47 seconds at the New Balance Invitational in New York. The time was the second-fastest in collegiate history and the fifth-fastest time in American history. The team won the event by more than two seconds and just missed the all-time collegiate record by 0.4 seconds.

"What a great step forward for these guys and this program," said CSU coach Tim Langford. "I am so proud of the way these four guys stepped up at this meet and competed. Now to know that they have run faster than anyone in the world really validates all of the hard work that they have put in."

Scouts Hall of Fame

Five veteran baseball scouts were named as the 2010 inductees to the Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame. This is the third year of honorees.

The inductees are commemorated with bronze plaques on display at the four minor league clubs operated by the Goldklang Group.

Honored at Charleston will be Jax Robertson (Pittsburgh Pirates). Honored at Fort Myers will be Terry Ryan (Minnesota) and Dave Yoakum (Chicago White Sox). Honored at Hudson Valley will be Bob Miske (New York Yankees). Honored at St. Paul will be Ken Stauffer (Tampa Bay).

The formal inductions will take place on four separate dates. The 2010 inductions will kick off in Fort Myers on March 30, Charleston RiverDogs to follow April 30, Hudson Valley Renegades on July 10 and St. Paul Saints on Aug. 12.