CSU golfer Swan leads City Amateur

Bart Branan blast out of a greenside bunker on the 12th hole, at Charleston Municipal Golf Course, during the first round of the 63rd annual event Friday, May 17, 2013. (Brad Nettles/postandcourier.com) 5/17/13

Brad Nettles

Jarrett Swan made only one bogey on his way to a 5-under-par 67 and a one-shot lead in Friday’s opening round of the 63rd Charleston City Amateur golf championship at Municipal Golf Course.

Matt Laydon is in second while Scott Davis is third after shooting 69. Tadd Brown is alone in fourth with a 70, while six-time champion Frank Ford III is tied for fifth with David Eller Jr., David Foster, Jeff Emory, Travis Williams and William Taylor.

Swan, a Wando graduate who just finished his sophomore season on the Charleston Southern golf team, started on the back nine in the morning wave and birdied four of the last five holes, missing out only on the par-4 16th, for a 32. He added birdies at 2 and 4 to get to 6-under before a bogey at the par-3 eighth hole.

Laydon, a financial consultant who is the 2012 South Carolina Amateur Match Play champion, made two birdies and two bogeys to shoot 36 on the front nine and then made four birdies for a back nine 32.

Davis had the best round in the afternoon wave of golfers with three birdies on his opening nine. He got to 5-under but bogeyed his final two holes.

A field of 180 golfers is competing in the 54-hole tournament. The field will be divided into flights for Sunday’s final round. Tee times today begin at 7:30 a.m. with the final groups starting at 2:10 p.m.


Jarrett Swan 67

Matthew Laydon 68

Scotty Davis 69

Tadd Brown 70

David Eller Jr. 71

David Foster 71

Frank Ford III 71

Jeff Emory 71

Travis Williams 71

William Taylor 71

Christian Sease 72

Gordon Williams 72

Grant Waggoner 72

Lushen Evans 72

Rob Bovender 72

Andy Gianoukos 73

Bart Branan 73

Daniel Sloan 73

Jeff Chapa 73

Kevin Driggers 73

Paul Van Zutphen 73

Steve Agazzi 73

Todd Welch 73

Bradley Lipsmeyer 74

Brian Phillips 74

Kent Hall 74

Mark Danelon 74

Patrick Mallard 74

Peter Kouten Sr. 74

Rich Bundschuh 74

Ross Thomson 74

T.A. Fulmer 74

Taylor Zoller 74

Trey Dennis 74

Bill Gevers 75

Charles McPherson 75

Chris Calabrese 75

Chris Knight 75

Dan Murray 75

Doug Miller 75

Gene Pickard 75

Jimmy Hyams 75

Kyle Haywork 75

Ladd Wood 75

Matt Wood 75

Patrick Harrington 75

Rodney Hancock 75

Stephen Perry 75