Cremins to be honored at S.C. Athletic Hall of Fame banquet

Bobby Cremins, Steve Wilmot, Bill Hamilton and Ken Wheat will be honored by the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame for their various contributions to sports in the state when the organization holds its 52nd annual banquet and induction ceremony May 14 in Columbia.

Cremins, who recently retired as College of Charleston’s men’s basketball coach, will receive the Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship. Wilmot, executive director of The RBC Heritage Golf Classic on Hilton Head Island, will be honored with the Willie Jeffries Ambassador Award. Hamilton, the long-time sports information director at South Carolina State, will be bestowed with the Herman Helms Media Excellence Award. Wheat, a former USC football player and current member of the SCAHOF board, will receive the inaugural Dom Fusci Leadership in Action Award.

The four will be recognized along with the new inductees of the SCAHOF during the banquet at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Being enshrined this year are former Clemson baseball coach Bill Wilhelm, former USC baseball coach June Raines and former Augusta National Club Chairman Hootie Johnson.

The Class of 2012 also consists of South Carolina football great Duce Staley, Clemson basketball standout Dale Davis, Spartanburg’s Stephen Davis, NASCAR executive Jim Hunter and AAU legend Evelyn Jordan.

Wilhelm and Hunter will be enshrined posthumously.

Tickets (table of eight for $500) and program sponsorships may be purchased by calling the SCAHOF office at (803) 779-0905. The event, which includes a reception and dinner, begins at 5:30 p.m.