KIAWAH ISLAND — College of Charleston freshman Julia Neumann closed with a 2-over-par 72 to take home individual medalist honors on the final day of the Edwin Watts/Kiawah Island Classic on Tuesday as the top 15 teams played for the tournament title at Cougar Point Golf Course on the Kiawah Island Golf Resort.

Neumann, competing in only her third collegiate tournament for the Cougars, played even through the majority of the front nine with one birdie on Hole No. 7. She later made three bogeys and two birdies on the back nine to finish with a three-round score of 3-over 219 and a one-stroke win over Julia Roth of Central Arkansas.

After leading the 32-team field by four strokes on Monday, the Cougars carded a three-round total of 902 and were edged by Campbell (899) in the team competition. Charleston Southern was 17th at 944, while The Citadel tied for 30th at 1017.

In men’s golf, sophomore Jarrett Swan shot 75 to tie for seventh as Charleston Southern finished fourth at the Charleston Shootout at the Links at Stono Ferry in Hollywood.

Swan’s 3-over 219 was three back of a three-way tie at the top by College of Charleston’s John Duke Hudson, Clemson’s Hayden Garrett and Coastal Carolina’s Easton Renwick, who were all at even-par 216. Hudson shot 74 in the final round.

The Buccaneers shot 298 in each round to finish at 894, 13 shots behind champion USC Upstate. The Cougars finished seventh at 903.

The Citadel’s baseball game Tuesday against Winthrop in Rock Hill was postponed one day due to the threat of rain. The contest will be played at 6 p.m. today.

College of Charleston was picked seventh in the AVCA Preseason Sand Volleyball poll. The Cougars enter the second season of the NCAA emerging sport after being just one of four teams selected for last season’s inaugural AVCA championships. Defending champion Pepperdine was picked first.

Former South Carolina wide receiver Sterling Sharpe, a 1987 First Team All-America who went on to play for the Green Bay Packers in the NFL, and former Gamecocks coach Jim Carlen are among the 77 players and five coaches who comprise the 2013 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. The inductees will be announced May 7.

Carlen, at South Carolina from 1975-1981, coached Heisman Trophy winner George Rogers. Other notable nominees include Eric Dickerson, Rocket Ismail, Vinny Testaverde, Derrick Thomas, Willie Roaf, LaDainian Tomlinson, Brian Bosworth and Tedy Bruschi.