College of Charleston clinches share of SoCon baseball title

College of Charleston baseball player Daniel Aldrich, former star at Wando High School. (Provided by the College of Charleston)

GREENSBORO, N.C. – College of Charleston clinched a share of the Southern Conference regular-season title today with a 10-4 win over UNC Greensboro, and will be the No. 2 seed in the SoCon baseball tournament next week in Greenville.

The Cougars (37-18, 21-9) will face The Citadel, the No. 7 seed, in the first round of the tourney, at 10 a.m. Wednesday in Greenville.

With Appalachian State (21-9) losing to Western Carolina on Saturday, the Cougars tied the Mountaineers for the regular-season title, Charleston’s first since 2007. App State earned the top seed due to its series win over Charleston.

Pitcher Matt Pegler (9-2) allowed just three hits and two runs over six innings against UNC Greensboro, finishing the season with a 2.92 earned-run average, third-best in the league.

The Cougar offense was led by Rob Harding, who hit a three-run double in the seventh inning to break the game open. Daniel Aldrich hit a two-run home run in the first inning, his 10th of the season, while Brandon Murray had three singles and scored a run with an RBI.

“We had a very good offensive day and a great outing by Matt Pegler,” head coach Monte Lee said. “Our whole pitching staff put together a good game, and we were able to get runners on base and drive them in. I’m proud of the way that we won in the last game of the regular season.”

Fluor Field, Greenville Wednesday

Game 1 -- No. 2 College of Charleston vs. No. 7 The Citadel, 10 a.m.,

Game 2 -- No. 3 Elon vs. No. 6 Georgia Southern, 1 p.m.

Game 3 -- No. 1 Appalachian State vs. No. 8 Furman, 5 p.m.

Game 4 -- No. 4 Samford vs. No. 5 Western Carolina, 8 p.m.

Thursday Game 5 -- Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 10 a.m.

Game 6 -- Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 1 p.m.

Game 7 -- Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 5 or 8 p.m.

Game 8 -- Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 5 or 8 p.m.

Friday Game 9 -- Loser Game 7 vs. Winner Game 5, 3 p.m.

Game 10 -- Loser Game 8 vs. Winner Game 6, 7 p.m.

Saturday Game 11 -- Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 9, 10 a.m.

Game 12 -- Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 10, 1 p.m.

Game 13 (if necessary) -- Loser Game 11 vs. Winner Game 11, 5 p.m.

Game 14 (if necessary) -- Loser Game 12 vs. winner Game 12, 8 p.m.

Sunday Championship Game, 2 p.m.