Cody vaults into Rice Planters lead

Austin Cody putts on the 11th green on the first day of the Rice Planters Golf Tournament at Snee Farm Wednesday June 19, 2013 in Mount Pleasant. Grace Beahm/Staff

Grace Beahm

— Austin Cody took advantage of a hot putter Friday to vault to a one-shot lead heading into Saturday’s final round of the Rice Planters Amateur golf tournament at Snee Farm Country Club.

Cody, the 2011 Rice Planters champion from North Charleston, shot a 6-under-par 66 and is at 7-under 137. First-round leader Maverick Antcliff of Augusta State, who is from Australia, shot 70 and is tied for second at 138 with a pair of Virginia Tech golfers, Scott Vincent and Trevor Cone.

College of Charleston golfer Zach Munroe is tied for fifth at 139 with Georgia’s Brian Carter. Defending champion Thomas Bradshaw of Clemson is well back at 1-over-par 145. Spencer Lawson, who was tied with Antcliff after the opening round, was forced to withdraw after becoming ill on the course.

Fifty-four players made the cut with scores of 148 or better. Saturday’s tee times begin at 8 a.m., with the leaders teeing off at 10:50 a.m.

Cody, who is a rising senior at Duke, has already enjoyed a good summer. The Blue Devils won the ACC championship, and he has a victory in the Chick Miler Invitational at Summerville Country Club and a runner-up finish in the South Carolina Amateur Match Play over the last couple of weeks. Cody was 1-over after seven holes Friday when things began clicking. Over the next eight holes, he made seven birdies before parring the final three holes.

“Everything started rolling in,” said Cody, who credited caddy and former Pinewood Prep teammate Kamito Hirai with helping him make good reads on the greens.

“It was a good solid round that got me back in the tournament.”

Virginia Tech won the inaugural Atkinson Cup, a team competition honoring two-time Rice Planters champion Bert Atkinson of Charleston. Twelve three-man teams of college golfers participated in the event.

Virginia Tech’s Cone, Vincent and Drew Johnson combined for a two-day total of 419. Charleston Southern, represented by Will Pieper, Jarrett Swan and Ross Thomson, was second at 433.


Austin Cody 71-66—137

Maverick Antcliff 68-70—138

Scott Vincent 71-67—138

Trevor Cone 71-67—138

Brian Carter 69-70—139

Zach Munroe 69-70—139

Johnson Holliday 71-69—140

Jon Weiss 72-68—140

Miller Capps 71-69—140

Blake Kennedy 70-71—141

Bryce Chalkey 69-72—141

Chase Koepka 69-72—141

Jarrett Swan 72-69—141

John Voestsch 69-72—141

Ryan Eibner 73-68—141

Austin Parks 69-73—142

Brent McKenzie 71-71—142

Daniel Yustin 72-70—142

Bodi Karsono 72-71—143

Drew Johnson 72-71—143

Josh O’Neal 74-69—143

Justin Young 70-73—143

Rhyne Jones 72-71—143

Ryan Mondy 74-69—143

Turner Gordon 70-73—143

Amanjyot Singh 69-75—144

Michael Cromie 74-70—144

Quinn Vilneff 69-75—144

Hayden Garrett 74-71—145

Jamie Wilson 73-72—145

Jeremy Grab 75-70—145

Michael Assey 70-75—145

Ross Thomson 75-70—145

Thomas Bradshaw 72-73—145

Will Murphy 71-74—145

Alex Ellis 73-73—146

Chipper Hughes 75-71—146

Scottie Verplank 72-74—146

William Rainey 72-74—146

Zach Edmondson 73-73—146

Andrew Novak 74-73—147

Ben Montgomery 73-74—147

Brad Thorne 79-68—147

John Assey 78-69—147

Mookie DeMoss 74-73—147

Staton Pruitt 72-75—147

Will Pieper 74-73—147

Wilson Day 74-73—147

Carter Page 69-79—148

Clement Kurniawan 75-73—148

Cyrus Stewart 73-75—148

Stephen Behr Jr. 70-78—148

Trey Smith 73-75—148

Tyler Wingo 73-75—148


Bailey Patrick 73-76—149

Bert Atkinson 74-75—149

Chandler Vilcheck 74-75—149

Christian Sease 74-76—150

Michael Wilhelm 76-74—150

Tyler Williams 73-77—150

Chandler Gruenemeier 73-78—151

Choo Teck Ng 76-75—151

G. Sivabalasingham 75-76—151

Jeffrey Meltzer 77-74—151

Josh Lorenzetti 76-75—151

Matt Laydon 79-72—151

Charles Valluzzo 73-79—152

George Kilgore 77-75—152

Jonathan Mullane 76-76—152

Mike Lund 75-77—152

Stefan Brewer 77-75—152

Taylor Zoller 71-81—152

Andrew Lewis 78-75—153

Aaron Eckstein 75-79—154

Devin Hernandez 75-79—154

Matthew Mahle 76-78—154

Ross Tooley 76-78—154

Jackson Moore 76-79—155

Tommy Hurst 77-78—155

Alex DiPalma 77-79—156

Joe Du Chateau 79-77—156

Wilson Yearout 75-81—156

Maclain Huge 82-75—157

William David Herring 78-79—157

Paul Conway 80-78—158

Nick Celestino 81-78—159

Rob Bovender 81-78—159

Branden Collins 84-79—163

Leon Leggett 79-84—163

Dylan Harris 83-86—169

Spencer Lawson 68-WD—WD