Citadel baseball to face seven postseason teams

Citadel coach Fred Jordan and the Bulldogs will host Louisville, South Carolina and College of Charleston in 2014. (Wade Spees/

Seven NCAA postseason teams from last season, including College World Series squad Louisville, highlight the 56-game baseball schedule for 2014 announced by The Citadel.

The Bulldogs, 35-25 a year ago, will host former Citadel standout Dan McDonnell and his Louisville club on Feb. 15 in the season-opening tournament at Riley Park. West Virginia, led by former Charleston Southern coach Randy Mazey, also will be on hand for the tournament.

Other highlights include a three-game visit from Nebraska on Feb. 28-March 2 and a three-game series with rival College of Charleston set for March 7-9. The first and third games of that non-conference series will be at Riley Park with the middle game at the Cougars’ Patriots Point.

The Citadel will play host to South Carolina on March 18, and go to USC on May 13. The Citadel will host the Southern Conference tournament May 21-25 at Riley Park.

The Citadel’s 2014 baseball schedule

Feb. 14 Delaware; Feb. 15 Louisville; Feb. 16 West Virginia; Feb. 18 at USC Upstate; Feb. 21 vs. Oklahoma; Feb. 22 vs. Ohio State; Feb. 23 at Central Florida; Feb. 25 Rhode Island; Feb. 26 Charlotte; Feb. 28-March 2 Nebraska.

Mar. 4 Coastal Carolina; March 5 Toledo; March 7 College of Charleston; March 8 at College of Charleston; March 9 College of Charleston; March 12 USC Upstate; March 14-16 at Davidson; March 18 South Carolina; March 19 at Winthrop; March 21-23 Samford; March 26 Charleston Southern; March 28-30 at Elon.

Apr. 1 at Coastal Carolina; Apr. 4-6 Georgia Southern; Apr. 9 at East Tennessee State; Apr. 11-13 at Appalachian State; Apr. 18-20 at Western Carolina; Apr. 22 Winthrop; Apr. 25-27 Furman.

May 2-4 Wofford; May 6 at Charleston Southern; May 8-9 UNC Wilmington; May 11 at UNC Wilmington; May 13 at South Carolina; May 15-17 UNCG; May 21-25 Southern Conference tournament at Riley Park.