Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame seeks nominations

Reese Havens, here completing a double-play for South Carolina against Clemson, was voted into the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame in 2014. Staff/File

The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame is seeking nominations for its Class of 2015. The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame is located inside Riley Park, and once an individual or team has been nominated, there is no need to re-submit.

An advisory committee consisting of local volunteers was created to come up with names as potential nominees. The group annually selects up to seven candidates for consideration and voting is conducted by fans.

Ballots will be available online at and at Riley Park during RiverDogs home games.

A maximum of three individuals/teams that receive the most votes will be inducted into the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame during ceremonies prior to the RiverDogs’ Aug. 7 game against the Savannah Sand Gnats.

Originally designed for professional players who played for local professional team, the Hall of Fame seven years ago was adjusted to include amateurs and teams, in addition to those who played in the major leagues.

The Class of 2014 included Reese Havens, David Hoffman and Billy Swails, Jr., while the Class of 2013 consisted of Gettys Glaze, Tom Hatley and John Rhodes.

Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame inductees:

2014 – Reese Havens, David Hoffman, Billy Swails, Jr. 2013 – Steven Jackson, Drew Meyer, Britt Reames. 2012 – Gettys Glaze, Tom Hatley, John Rhodes. 2011 – Bill Ackerman, Roberto Alomar, Mike Kimbrell. 2010 – Lee Glaze, Fred Jordan, D.K. Walters, Kenny Wilkinson. 2009 – John Dodds, Jr., W.S. “Bull” Durham, Donald Morillo, Doug Pounder. 2008 – Bryce Florie, Danny Jones, Charley Smith, Richard Wieters. 2007 – 1955 Cannon Street YMCA All-Star Team, 1990 Citadel World Series Team, Anthony Jenkins, Modie Risher. 2006 – Ty Cline, Mike Cook, Gary McJunkin, Chal Port. 2005 – John Candelaria. 2004 – David Cone. 2003 – Willie Randolph, Gorman Thomas.