Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Beasley, Cann capture All-America team honors

  • Updated
Beasley, Cann capture All-America team honors

Clemson's Vic Beasley was named to AP All-America first team. See list on C2.

Clemson defensive end Vic Beasley and South Carolina guard A.J. Cann were named to The Associated Press All-America team on Tuesday.

Beasley, a second-team AP All-American last year, is the first Clemson player to be named first-team All-American by The Associated Press since 2011 when Dwayne Allen (tight end) and Sammy Watkins (all-purpose) were both named.

Cann, a Bamberg native, was awarded a place on the second team.

He was the only South Carolina player named to one of the three squads.

The College Football Playoff participants were well represented on the team.

Florida State led the way with three first-team All-Americans: tight end Nick O'Leary, guard Tre Jackson and kicker Roberto Aguayo, who is an All-American for the second straight season.

Oregon and Alabama each had two, including a couple of Heisman Trophy finalists.

Heisman winner Marcus Mariota is the first Ducks quarterback to be an All-American.

Crimson Tide receiver Amari Cooper, third in the Heisman voting, also made the first team.