Ashley Ridge, Stratford advance in AAAA wrestling

Staff report

Ashley Ridge and Stratford advanced to the third round as the Class AAAA wrestling playoffs began Saturday.

Top-seeded Stratford hosted Irmo, Conway and Summerville for the first two rounds on Saturday, emerging victorious with wins over Irmo and Summerville. The Knights travel to face Lexington on Monday.

Ashley Ridge, also a No. 1 seed, hosted Socastee, River Bluff and Cane Bay, knocking off Cane Bay and Socastee to advance to the third round.

Fort Dorchester, wrestling at Lexington, scored a first-round win over Sumter before losing to Lexington.

Goose Creek, wrestling at Carolina Forest, beat White Knoll before losing to Dutch Fork.

In Class AAA, Hanahan lost to Swansea in Hartsville.

Cane Bay 40, River Bluff 21

106: Petrovich RB pins Gardner CB; 113: Vereen CB 6-2 d. Granda RB; 120: Burkhead CB 9-3 d. Brazell RB; 126: Inge CB 10-3 d. Burnette RB; 132: Brisbon CB Forfeit; 138: D’Ambrosio CB 11-7 d. Ortega RB; 145: Baker CB 9-2 Butler RB; 152: Spinda CB 11-2 Slattery RB major decision; 160: Brown CB pinned Fortner RB; 170: Ortega RB pinned Wall CB; 182: Caine CB pinned Winnie RB; 195: Scott RB pinned Smith CB; 220: Harper CB 13-7 Hart RB; 285: Leon RB forfeit.

Ashley Ridge 51, Socastee 24

106: Ward Soc pinned Mcmillan AR; 113: Utley Soc 6-2 Wiggs AR; 120: Edwards Soc 12-10 OT Bell AR; 126: Tucker AR forfeit; 132: Cameron AR forfeit; 138: Jenkins AR pins Macalincag Soc; 145: Rogers Soc pins Jennings AR; 152: Grooms AR forfeit; 160: Phillips AR 7-4 Gallegos Soc; 170: Remeika AR forfeit; 182: Dennis AR forfeit; 195: Trephan AR forfeit; 220: Thomas AR forfeit; 285: Armstrong Soc forfeit.

Ashley Ridge 46, Cane Bay 3

106: double forfeit; 113: Radlin AR 6-2 Vereen CB; 120 Rutelonis AR 9-6 Anthony CB; 126: Tucker AR 5-4 Inge CB; 132: D’Ambrosio CB 5-1 Cameron AR; 138: Jenkins AR pins Threatt CB; 145: Trephan AR pins Wall CB; 152: Groom AR 7-6 Spinda CB; 160: Phillips AR 11-2 Brown CB major dec; 170: Hynes pins Flowers CB; 182: Dennis AR pins Hartnett CB; 195: Trephan AR pins Smith CB; 220: double forfeit; 285: double forfeit.

Stratford 37, Irmo 28

120: Sean Pringle (STRA) over Jordan Reeder (IRMO) (Dec 9-7) 126: Nicholas Qualls (STRA) over (IRMO) (For.) 132: Luke Maningding (STRA) over Zach Stroupe (IRMO) (Dec 4-2) 138: Marcus Johnson (IRMO) over Kenneth `Hayden` Prince (STRA) (MD 13-1) 145: Nick McGrantham (STRA) over (IRMO) (For.) 152: Jalen Carr (IRMO) over Lamar Gray (STRA) (Fall 0:00) 160: Stephen Rinehart (IRMO) over Michael Hunt (STRA) (Dec 7-4) 170: JD Harrelson (STRA) over Tim Land (IRMO) (Fall 0:00) 182: Devante Richardson (IRMO) over Kyle Toporek (STRA) (Fall 0:00) 195: Chandler Finch (IRMO) over Brandon Jones (STRA) (Dec 4-2) 220: Shamar Young (IRMO) over (STRA) (For.) 285: Jacob Fitzgerald (STRA) over Sam Sherer (IRMO) (Dec 7-5) 106: Jaylen Kello (STRA) over Jabrian Chandler (IRMO) (MD 14-1) 113: Josh Maningding (STRA) over (IRMO) (For.)

Stratford 38, Summerville 33

126: Nicholas Qualls (STRA) over Ryan Alumbaugh (SHS) (MD 10-2) 132: Bryce Frutos (SHS) over Luke Maningding (STRA) (Dec 5-2) 138: Kenneth `Hayden` Prince (STRA) over Aryn Moore (SHS) (MD 17-5) 145: Lamar Gray (STRA) over William Jones (SHS) (Fall 0:00) 152: Nick McGrantham (STRA) over Cole Phillips (SHS) (Dec 6-3) 160: Michael Hunt (STRA) over Christian Ancrum (SHS) (Fall 0:00) 170: JD Harrelson (STRA) over Tradd Howell (SHS) (Fall 0:00) 182: Scott Jackson (SHS) over Kyle Toporek (STRA) (Fall 0:00) 195: Dennis Berry (SHS) over Brandon Jones (STRA) (Fall 0:00) 220: Coleman Warder (SHS) over (STRA) (For.) 285: Jacob Fitzgerald (STRA) over Koree Morgan (SHS) (Dec 4-3) 106: Zachary Jurey (SHS) over Jaylen Kello (STRA) (Fall 0:00) 113: Josh Maningding (STRA) over Jimmy Rundell (SHS) (Fall 0:00) 120: Will Sears (SHS) over Sean Pringle (STRA) (Fall 0:00)