5 area players lead Palmetto honorees

Bobby McNeil


Goose Creek’s Virgil Smalls (left) has committed to play for USC, while Wando’s Gimel President committed to Auburn.

Goose Creek fullback Virgil Smalls and Wando defensive end Gimel President head up the list of five Lowcountry football players named to the Palmetto Champions All-Star Team by the South Carolina Football Coaches Association.

Smalls, who has committed to play for the South Carolina Gamecocks, scored 27 touchdowns rushing for Goose Creek, the No. 1 seed in the Division II-AAAA playoffs. President has committed to play for Auburn. Both players have been selected to play in the Shine Bowl.

The other Lowcountry players honored are Timberland offensive lineman Bobby McNeil, Cane Bay offensive lineman David Bryant and Beaufort kicker Kyle Clark.

The Palmetto Champions, consisting of 25 high school football players and 10 high school football coaches, will be honored at a banquet Dec. 1 in Columbia. From this list, a Palmetto Champions All-Star lineman, back, specialty team player and coach of the year will be announced at the banquet.

Here are the honorees:

Big 16 Upper State: Back: Quinshad Davis, Gaffney; Lineman: Patrick Destefano, Dorman

Big 16 Lower State: Back: Shaq Roland, Lexington; Lineman: Gimel President, Wando

AAAA Upper State: Shaq Williams, Lancaster; Lineman: Mitchell Jeter, Rock Hill

AAAA Lower State: Back: Virgil Smalls, Goose Creek; Lineman: Josh Brown, South Aiken

AAA Upper State: Back: Caleb Rowe, Blue Ridge; Lineman: Shaquille Lawson, Daniel

AAA Lower State: Back: Dalvin Bracey, Lakewood; Lineman: David Bryant, Cane Bay

AA Upper State: Back: Raleigh Yeldell, Strom Thurmond; Lineman: Javarius Leamon, Woodruff

AA Lower State: Back: Kwinton Smith, Dillon; Lineman: Bobby McNeil, Timberland

A Upper State: Hunter Townes, Christ Church; Lineman: Oliver Jones, Ninety Six

A Lower State: Back: Jabril Solomon, Hemingway; Lineman: Wesley Scott, Ridgeland

Big 16 kicker: Kaleb Patterson, Byrnes

AAAA kicker: Kyle Clark, Beaufort

AAA kicker/punter: Ryan Jansen, Marlboro County

AA: Not available

A returner: Josh Fields, Whale Branch

Big 16 Upper State: Dan Jones, Gaffney

Big 16 Lower State: Scott Early, Lexington

AAAA Upper State: Chad Smith, Easley

AAAA Lower State: Trey Woodberry, West Florence

AAA Upper State: Strait Herron, South Pointe

AAA Lower State: Dean Howell, A.C. Flora

AA Upper State: Kyle Stewart, Liberty

AA Lower State: Jamie Snider, Loris

A Upper State: Russell Schneider, Fox Creek

A Lower State: Lewis Lineberger, Johnsonville

Distinguished Service Award: Pete Yanity, WSPA-TV sports director