Ann Sheridan wins Hobcaw Yacht Club Regatta’s Michele Poulnot Award

Junior sailors battle each other Sunday in the "Open Bic" class during the Hobcaw Regatta. This is the first time in Charleston that the Open Bic boats have been sailed in a regatta. (Brad Nettles/Staff) 7/12/15

With a change back to its traditional spot on the local calendar, participation was up for the Hobcaw Yacht Club Regatta that wrapped up Sunday on the Wando River.

“We had about 75 boats,” said principal race officer J.D. Rosser. “Our wind held steady at 8 to 10 knots, which is nice sailing for smaller boats.”

Ann Sheridan won the Michele Poulnot Award that goes to the junior female sailor with the best performance in the regatta. Sheridan won all five races in the Sunfish Junior class.

The new Open Bic class drew nine entries.

The largest class was Lightnings with skipper Henry McCray taking the top spot.

Michael Miller skippered the winning Sea Island One Design to wins in the first five of six races sailed and had a throwaway of second in the final race.


420s: 1-Jamie Renneker, 1-1-1-1-1—5; 2-Sarah DeLoach, 2-2-2-3-1—10; 3-Drew Owens, 3-4-5-3-3—18.

BIC: 1-Gavin Parker, 3-1-1-2-1—8; 2-Hunter Moore, 1-3-3-1-3—11; 3-Neil Walters, 4-2-2-3-4—15.

Laser: 1-Rob Nason, 1-2-1-1-1—6; 2-Ashley Byrd, 1-1-2-2-2—8.

Laser Radial: 1-Thomas Smith, 4-1-1-2-1—9; 2-Kenneth Corsig, 2-1-2-3-3—11; 3-Lucas Sawin, 1-2-3-2-3—11.

Lightning: 1-Henry McCray, 4-2-1-3-2—12; 2-Eric Oetgen, 7-1-2-4-4—18; 3-Mac McKenzie, 5-5-4-4-1—19.

Moth: 1-Rutledge Young, 3-2-2-1-1—9; 2-Mark Saunders, 1-1-1-5-5—13; 3-Randall Swan, 2-3-3-5-5—18.

Opti Blue: 1-Benjamin Smith, 1-1-1-5-1—9; 2-William Tebrake, 2-2-2-3-2—11; 3-Eli Thorn, 3-4-3-2-3—15.

Opti Green: 1-Jack Jordan, 2-1-3-1—7; 2-Walker Hussey, 10-2-1-2—15; 3-William Hussey III, 3-4-4-4—15.

Opti Red: 1-James Thurlow, 1-1-1-1-1—5.

Opti White: 1-Wyatt Norman, 1-1-2-1-1—6; 2-Maverick Anderson, 4-2-1-2-2—11; 3-Hudson Monts, 2-3-3-3-3—14.

Sea Island One Design: 1-Michael Miller, 1-1-1-1-1—5; 2-George Durst III, 4-4-3-2-1—14; 3-Prentice Brower, 2-3-2-6-3—16.

Sunfish: 1-Nicole Nason, 1-2-1-2-1—7; 2-Robert Morrow, 1-1-2-1-2—7.

Sunfish Junior: 1-Ann Sheridan, 1-1-1-1-1—5; 2-Sam Cabiness, 2-1-3-3-3—12.

Sunfish Master: 1-Brian Swan, 1-1-1-1-1—5.

Sunfish Senior: 1-Bil Smith, 1-1-1-1-1—5.