Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Haley announces fundraisers for potential campaign

  • Updated
Haley announces fundraisers for potential campaign

South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley greets a crowd at an event in 2011.

— Gov. Nikki Haley says 32 business leaders from across South Carolina have volunteered to help her raise money for a potential re-election campaign.

Haley announced the names of her finance advisory committee Tuesday in a statement first provided to The Associated Press. They include former state GOP Chairman Katon Dawson, former U.S. Ambassador to Canada David Wilkins and former South Carolina Policy Council president Ed McMullen.

The announcement comes two weeks after Haley released the names of 164 people statewide who will help spread her message. That committee consists of at least one person from each of the 46 counties.

Despite her campaign preparedness, the first-term governor insists she will not decide whether she’ll seek a second term until after the legislative session ends this summer.

— Republican Gov. Nikki Haley on Tuesday announced the following 32 people have volunteered to raise money for her potential run for a second term:

— Dan Adams, Greenville. A co-founder and CEO of The Capital Corporation. Director of First National Bank of the South and president of the South Carolina Investor’s Network.

— Mike Brenan, Columbia. President of BB&T of South Carolina and South Carolina Chamber of Commerce board chairman. Haley’s appointee on the state Board of Education.

— Derick Close, Fort Mill. CEO of Springs Creative Products Group in Rock Hill. Former president of the South Carolina Manufacturing Alliance.

— Ernie Csiszar, Columbia. Former state Insurance Department director from 1999 to 2004 and former president of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

— Leighton Cubbage, Greenville. Co-founder of Serrus Capital Partners and former chairman of the Greenville Hospital System board.

— Katon Dawson, Columbia. Chairman of the state Republican Party from 2002 to 2009.

— Jim Dyke, Charleston. President of public affairs firm JDA Frontline.

— Dave Ellison, Greenville. Northwestern Mutual wealth management adviser and chairman of the South Carolina Club for Growth.

— John Ferguson, Charleston. Partner in the Charlotte, N.C.-based Carolina Restaurant Group and co-owner of Hubee D’s Restaurant.

— Dr. Eddie Floyd, Florence. A surgeon and former University of South Carolina board chairman. Co-chaired President George W. Bush’s South Carolina re-election effort in 2004.

— Karen Floyd, Spartanburg. Became South Carolina’s first female Republican Party chairwoman in 2009 after running for state superintendent. Former Spartanburg County Council chairwoman and founder and CEO of the Palladian Group, a public relations firm.

— Bill Hewitt, Charleston. Board chairman of Polymer Group, Inc. Former president and CEO of The Union Corporation before its sale to Outsourcing Solutions, Inc.

— Jim Hudson, Columbia. Owner of eight auto dealerships in South Carolina. Former president of the South Carolina Automobile Dealers Association.

— Mikee Johnson, Orangeburg. President and CEO of Cox Industries. Haley’s appointed chairman to the state Workforce Investment Board.

— Don Leonard, Myrtle Beach. President of Leonard, Call & Associates real estate firm, and Wake Forest University board member.

— Leighton Lord, Columbia. Attorney and former chairman of Nexsen Pruet. Ran for attorney general in 2010.

— Ted McGee Jr., Lexington. President of McGee Real Estate, former president of the West Metro Chamber of Commerce, and former board member of the Columbia Airport Commission.

— Pat McKinney, Charleston. Partner in Kiawah Development Partners, the master developer of Kiawah Island. Former Furman University board member.

— Foster McKissick III, Greenville. President of Fairway Ford Lincoln and chairman of the Citadel Brigadier Foundation board.

— Smyth McKissick, Greenville. Chairman & CEO of Alice Manufacturing Co. in Easley, a Clemson University trustee, and co-chairman of the American Manufacturing Trade Action Coalition.

— Ed McMullen, Columbia. President of McMullen Public Affairs, and former president of the South Carolina Policy Council.

— Steve Mudge, Greenville. Co-founder of Serrus Capital Partners.

— Beth Myers, Boston. Senior adviser to Gov. Mitt Romney’s 2012 presidential race, his campaign manager in 2008, and as his chief of staff while he was Massachusetts governor.

— Norman Pullium, Spartanburg. President of Pulliam Investment from 1970 to 1999, when he was elected board chairman.

— Greg Ryberg, Aiken. Former senator from Aiken for 20 years and chairman of the Senate’s Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee.

— O.L. Thompson, Charleston. CEO of O.L. Thompson Construction Co.

— David Tigges, Beaufort. Managing shareholder and CEO of the McNair Law Firm, chairman of the Lowcountry Economic Alliance and Heritage Classic Foundation board member.

— Don Tomlin, Columbia. President of Tomlin & Company, Inc., an investment banking firm and real estate developer.

— Bhavna Maker Vasudeva, Columbia. Wife of Dr. Raj Vasudeva.

— Chad Walldorf, Charleston. Co-founder of Sticky Fingers restaurant. Haley’s appointee as chairman of the Board of Economic Advisors. Former deputy chief of staff to Gov. Mark Sanford.

— Ambassador David Wilkins, Greenville. Partner at Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP. U.S. Ambassador to Canada from June 2005 to January 2009. Former, 11-year speaker of the South Carolina House.

— Barry Wynn, Spartanburg. Former chairman of the state Republican Party. President of Colonial Trust.

Source: Associated Press

Sign up for updates!

Get the latest political news from The Post and Courier in your inbox.

Similar Stories