You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
top story

SC's Republican Electoral College designees to cast ballots for Trump on Monday

  • Updated
Trump rally AW22.jpg (copy) (copy)

President Donald Trump appears at rally at the North Charleston Coliseum on Feb. 28, 2020. South Carolina's Electoral College designees will convene Monday to formally cast the state's nine votes for Trump and Vice President Mike Pence. File/Andrew Whitaker/Staff

COLUMBIA — South Carolina's Electoral College designees will convene Monday to formally cast the state's nine votes for President Donald Trump and Vice President Mike Pence.

The nine Republican electors will meet at 11 a.m. in Room 101 of the Solomon Blatt Building.

Trump won the state versus Democrat Joe Biden by a 55 percent to 43 percent margin. About 2 percent went to third-party candidates.

The ballot separation was 1,385,000 votes for Trump, to 1,091,000 for Biden.

In winning the state, Trump secured all nine of South Carolina's Electoral College votes in the winner-take-all system.

Unlike in battleground states, there have been no legal challenges filed in South Carolina tied to alleged Election Day fraud, improprieties or procedures, S.C. Election Commission spokesman Chris Whitmire said Wednesday.

Sign up for updates!

Get the latest political news from The Post and Courier in your inbox.

Elsewhere, Trump, his supporters and other Republicans have filed an estimated 50 lawsuits around the country contesting the Nov. 3 vote, The Associated Press reports. Trump has lost more than 35 cases and the others are pending.

Also Wednesday, Republican S.C. Attorney General Alan Wilson joined 16 other Republican-led states in a Texas-generated lawsuit in the Supreme Court alleging unconstitutional behavior in four key battlegrounds Biden won: Wisconsin, Pennsylvania, Michigan and Georgia.

"Regardless of your ideological beliefs, we must all agree that free and fair elections are the keystone of democracy," Wilson said in a media statement. "Our Constitution’s election clauses must be followed, and the Constitution must be a guiding light for fair elections to continue to take place." 

The S.C. electors chosen by the state GOP to take part Monday are selected by congressional district residency. They are:

  • District 1 Charleston and the Lowcountry, Terry Hardesty.
  • District 2 Lexington and the western part of the state, Jim Ulmer.
  • District 3 covering the state's northwest corner, Cheryl Cuthrell.
  • District 4 around Greenville, Suzette Jordan.
  • District 5 covering Sumter to Rock Hill, Charm Altman.
  • District 6 covering Columbia and the Midlands, Sandra Bryan.
  • District 7 covering Florence and Myrtle Beach, Gerri McDaniel.
  • The two at-large electors are state GOP Chairman Drew McKissick and Republican National Committeewoman Cindy Costa of Charleston.

A livestream of the event will be available online at

Reach Schuyler Kropf at 843-937-5551. Follow him on Twitter at @skropf47.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

Columbia Breaking News

Greenville Breaking News

Myrtle Beach Breaking News

Aiken Breaking News