Save Shem Creek candidates have chance to claim all four seats in Mount Pleasant

Mary Jane Toole gets her sticker after casting her vote at the South Carolina Army National Guard during election day Tuesday in Mount Pleasant.

MOUNT PLEASANT — In a rejection of the town’s pace of growth, the candidates most identified with the Save Shem Creek movement claimed two of the Town Council seats up for grabs here Tuesday with the chance to claim two more.

With all precincts reporting, Bob Brimmer and Joe Bustos were the outright winners, according to unofficial results.

A runoff will be held in two weeks for the other two seats. Those candidates will include Will Haynie and Jim Owens, both backed by Save Shem Creek, and with Town Council incumbents Chris O’Neal and Chris Nichols.

They were the leading vote-getters in the 12 candidate at-large field.

The unofficial Save Shem Creek effort was started by those who opposed a new office building proposed near the town’s popular tourist destination of restaurants and bars. While supporters so far have not been able to stop the building from going forward, the movement expanded as a statement against the traffic, growth and development the town has seen in recent years.

With all numbers in, the results were: Brimmer, 6,101 votes; Bustos, 6,038 votes; Haynie, 5,488 votes; and Owens, 5,442 votes. Next up were: O’Neal, 4,582 votes; Nickels, 3,305 votes; Bryson, 3,092 votes; Millet, 3,076 votes; Glasson, 3,024 votes; Nick Collins, 2,559 votes; Julio Avendano, 663 votes; and Christian Bramson, 590 votes.

Council member Thomasena Stokes-Marshall opted against seeking another term.

The results also mean that Mayor Linda Page will have an all-male council going forward since no females filed for town politics this year.

Sign up for updates!

Get the latest political news from The Post and Courier in your inbox.

The pay for town council members is scheduled to rise almost 70 percent to $15,000.

The election also featured a three-way race for two seats on the town’s Mount Pleasant Waterworks Commission. In that vote, incumbents Diane Lauritsen, 5,633 votes, and Mac Jenkinson, 5,181 votes, won re-election against a challenge from Dodge Hindman, 3,980 votes.

Warren Wise contributed.

We're improving out commenting experience.

We’ve temporarily removed comments from articles while we work on a new and better commenting experience. In the meantime, subscribers are encouraged to join the conversation at our Post and Courier Subscribers group on Facebook.