Mount Pleasant -- Like the rest of Charleston County, voters east of the Cooper mostly stayed away from the polls Tuesday, although the turnout was better in some locations than others.

In Mount Pleasant, 15 percent of registered voters cast ballots for four council seats. On Isle of Palms, 36 percent of eligible voters selected four council winners. Some 40 percent of Awendaw voters picked winners for three council seats.

Countywide, the turnout for nearly 186,000 registered voters was 18 percent. Election results were certified Thursday by the county election commission.

Voter participation in Mount Pleasant varied by neighborhood. In Precinct 26, nearly 45 percent of the electorate voted at Jones Recreation Center on Egypt Road. But only 4 percent of registered voters in Precinct 14 cast ballots at Sweetgrass Village on Mathis Ferry Road.

Chris Nickels, a winning candidate for Town Council, noted that council voted in 2007 to move the municipal election date from September 2008 to November 2009. The thinking at the time was that the move would improve voter turnout.

In the previous town elections in September 2006, 11 percent of registered voters cast ballots. Nickels said that despite the November election date, the results were "substantially the same."

In addition to Nickels, the winners were incumbents Thomasena Stokes-Marshall and Ken Glasson as well as newcomer Chris O'Neal.

In the Isle of Palms Town Council race, incumbent Ryan Buckhannon was the top vote-getter, followed by Jimmy Carroll, Jimmy Ward and Michael Loftus.

Incumbents Sheila M. Powell and Rodney Porcher and newcomer Roberta Whiteside were elected to the Awendaw council.