Voters in the new Town of James Island elected a Town Council and mayor tonight, returning former mayor Bill Woolsey to office after he ran unopposed.

Final results for Town Council showed the top four voter-getters for the new council seats were: Leonard Blank, 22 percent; Sam Kernodle, 16 percent; Mary Beth Berry 15 percent; and Darren Troy Mullinax, 15 percent.

Marilyn Clifford, Linda Womack and Sandi Engelman finished back and out of contention.

The margin of the final tallies were not close enough to warrant a recount.

Sign up for updates!

Get the latest political news from The Post and Courier in your inbox.

The council seats were elected at-large. The terms for mayor and council are two years.

The votes will be certified Thursday with swearing in for the new administration and council scheduled for 7 p.m. Thursday at James Island Town Hall, with Lt. Gov. Glenn McConnell presiding.