Isle of Palms voters chose the three candidates who called themselves “fiscal conservatives” and “common-sense decisions-makers,” but may have to go back to the polls to fill the fourth seat.

In unofficial results, incumbent Ryan Buckhannon was the top vote-getter, followed by newcomers Jimmy Carroll and Jimmy Ward.

“We’re all independent candidates, but we knew we needed to stick together,” Buckhannon said. “We’re all longtime island residents, and we’re going to listen to the voters.”

For the fourth seat, a runoff likely will be required between incumbent Michael Loftus and newcomer Anne M. Bauer, officials said.

Incumbents Brian Duffy and Ralph Piening were not re-elected.

The total number of voters was unavailable late Tuesday. Each voter could choose up to four candidates.

Carroll said he, Ward and Buckhannon “feel very fortunate.”