COLUMBIA, S.C. — Gov. Nikki Haley has issued a state of emergency for 31 counties in South Carolina as forecasters predict several inches of snow in the Upstate.

The declaration issued Wednesday afternoon directs state agencies to begin coordinating to respond to any emergencies and to help local governments. It also places some South Carolina National Guard members on duty to help.

The declaration is along and north of Interstate 20 and west of Interstate 95.

Haley says she wants everyone in the Upstate to leave work or school by 5 p.m. Wednesday, go home and stay there.

Clemson University is closing at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday because of the impending snow.


Counties in the state of emergency are: Abbeville, Aiken, Anderson, Calhoun, Cherokee, Chester, Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Edgefield, Fairfield, Florence, Greenville, Greenwood, Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, Lee, Lexington, Newberry Marlboro, McCormick, Oconee, Orangeburg, Pickens, Richland, Saluda, Spartanburg, Sumter, Union and York.