The ballot for South Carolina's Jan. 21 Republican presidential primary is set, with nine candidates scheduled to be included.

The candidates are: Michele Bachmann, Herman Cain, Newt Gingrich, Jon Huntsman, Gary Johnson, Ron Paul, Rick Perry, Mitt Romney and Rick Santorum.

Former Louisiana Gov. Buddy Roemer will not appear; he did not pay the filing fee.

State Republican Party Chairman Chad Connelly said the lineup reinforces the state's early vote status.

"Presidential candidates and Republican activists across our nation know South Carolina's 30-year tradition of successfully choosing the Republican nominee," he said.

Former candidate Tim Pawlenty paid his filing fee but has since dropped out of the race and will not be listed. Pawlenty will not be given the requested refund on his $25,000 primary filing fee, the party said.