Several local high school seniors have won Achievement Scholarship awards through the National Achievement Scholarship Program.

These awards, totaling nearly $2 million, are being financed by grants from about 35 corporate organizations and professional associations, and by National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The program is a privately financed academic competition established in 1964 specifically to honor scholastically talented black American youth, and to provide scholarships to a number of the most outstanding participants.

The 2010 program marks 46 annual competitions in which more than 30,300 participants will have received scholarships for undergraduate study worth more than $95 million.

Achievement Scholar designees include 700 recipients of $2,500 scholarships. All students who advanced to the finalist level in 2010 were considered for these single-payment scholarships.

About 100 scholars are winners of corporate-sponsored achievement scholarship awards. Winners were chosen from among finalists who meet the criteria of their grantor organizations.

Local recipients include:

--Jacqueline A. Calloway, Charleston, Academic Magnet High School, National Achievement Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Memorial Scholarship.

--Zachary A. Cotton, Hanahan, Hanahan High School, $2,500 scholarship.

--Leah D. Snipe, Johns Island, Academic Magnet High School, $2,500 scholarship.

--Allison M. Hilton, North Charleston, Charleston County School of the Arts, $2,500 scholarship.

--Renee D. Brooks, Walterboro, Colleton County High School, $2,500 scholarship.