The Exchange Club of Charleston recently awarded $30,000 in scholarships to seven local high school seniors.

The club’s Youth of the Year Award went to Somer Hand, who graduated from Academic Magnet High School. She will attend Virginia Tech.

Runners-up for Youth of the Year are Ellori Mcpherson of Wando High School, Joshua Mulvaney of Palmetto Christian Academy and Joyana Rudd of James Island Charter High School.

The club’s Accepting the Challenge of Excellence Award went to Christie Lawrence, who graduated from Academic Magnet. She will attend Duke University.

Runners-up for ACE are Taylor Feigl of James Island Charter High and Zachary Watson of Academic Magnet.