Twelve high school juniors in the Charleston area recently received the West Point Leadership Award.

The award is presented by the West Point Society of Charleston to the outstanding high school junior in each participating school who best meets the attributes of a U.S. Military Academy cadet in the areas of leadership, academics, athletics, community service and citizenship.

The 2011 awardees are Travis Salley, Burke High School; James Arthur Lyon, Wando High School; Zachary Liollio, West Ashley High School; John Paul Oberholtzer, Baptist Hill High School; Deb Frazier, Charleston Collegiate School; Darius A. Nilsen, Military Magnet Academy; Taylor J. Greene, Pinewood Preparatory School; John Jamison, Academic Magnet; Gamble Augusta Ouzts, Ashley Hall; Bradley Scott McClelland, Porter-Gaud School; and Juan Pablo Gonzales and Dominique Prince Francis, Ashley Ridge High School.

The juniors received a certificate from the South Carolina West Point Parents Club and had his or her name engraved on a plaque displayed in the school. A West Point graduate presented the awards at school assemblies. Additionally, the students were invited to attend a five-day West Point Leadership Camp at Camp McCrady (adjacent to Fort Jackson).

All area high schools are invited to participate. Students interested in competing should contact their high school counselors, who should contact Steve Featherstone, West Point Society of Charleston, at