Edisto awards

The Edisto Island Community Association has announced the winners of its 2011 scholarship awards:

Shaquoya Moultrie, Garrett Academy of Technology.

Kenneth A. Fisk, Academic Magnet High School.

Tyquanda Legare, Simone Gadsden and Shyra Hutchinson, all of Baptist Hill High School.

William W. Smoak, Colleton County High School.

The association is a nonprofit whose purpose is to be a positive force in the development of Edisto Island so that residents will be protected from unwanted encroachments. EICA collects money from members and Edisto Island businesses to award scholarships to graduating seniors who live on Edisto Island and meet EICA's criteria.

William & Mary grads

Local residents recently graduated from the College of William & Mary in Virginia.

Lenna Walker of Charleston received a Bachelor of Science.

Kimberly Pierce of Goose Creek graduated with an M.Ed.

Eric Novak of Sullivan's Island graduated with a Bachelor of Arts.

Excelsior degrees

Several local students recently graduated from Excelsior College.

Dorothy A. Blechschmidt of Charleston, Bachelor of Science.

Guillermo D. Companioni of Goose Creek, associate degree.

Brandon K. Johnson of Goose Creek, Bachelor of Science.

Bradley L. Lofland of Mount Pleasant, Bachelor of Science.

Choate Rosemary Hall

Chang Yo Luh of Charleston and Sean de Herder of Mount Pleasant received diplomas at Choate Rosemary Hall, an independent secondary school in Wallingford, Conn.

Luh graduated cum laude and was awarded the Seal Prize for outstanding contributions and the Choate Rosemary Hall Award for enthusiasm in the study of French language and literature.

Wingate honors

Area students were named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Wingate University. To make the dean's list requires a term GPA of 3.30.

Anna Rogers of Charleston.

Terry Chandler and Harrison Crosbee of Mount Pleasant.

Erik Cobb of Summerville.

Niagara honors

Katherine R. Kauffman of Charleston was named to the academic dean's list for the spring semester at Niagara University.

To qualify, students must attain a 3.25 grade-point average for the semester.