Presidential Scholars

Sixty-one South Carolina high school seniors have been identified as candidates for the 2011 U.S. Presidential Scholars program that honors young people for outstanding academic achievement, artistic excellence, leadership, citizenship and community service.

The candidate pool consists of some 3,000 students with high SAT or ACT scores. A review committee will narrow that list to about 500 honorees in the semifinal round. About 120 students will make the final round and be invited to an awards program in Washington, D.C., this summer.

The Presidential Scholars program was created in 1964 to recognize academic achievement. It expanded in 1979 to salute students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts and who are nominated through the nationwide young ARTS competition conducted by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts.

The state's 2011 list of candidates includes students in both public and private schools. Academic Magnet High School in Charleston County leads in nominees with a total of five. Southside High in Greenville County has four candidates. The S.C. Governor's School for Science & Mathematics in Hartsville has three students on the list, as does the Governor's School for the Arts & Humanities in Greenville.

Local candidates include Rebecca L. Ellison, Porter-Gaud School; Rebecca C. Rosen, Ashley Hall; Emily J. Tonks, Academic Magnet; Kerry L. Digiacomo, Academic Magnet; Ashley M. Reddy, Stratford High School; Edward J. Harrell, Academic Magnet; Karen E. Woods, Wando High School; William T. Zhang, Academic Magnet; Jennica C. Egan, Wando High; Kelly R. Herring, Porter-Gaud; and David T. Zhang, Academic Magnet.

Clerkship program

Four students from the Charleston School of Law have been selected to participate in the American Bar Association's Judicial Clerkship Program on Feb. 10-12 in Atlanta.

The four local students selected are Joneice Caldwell, Valencia Thurman, Philip Allen and Cozette McNeil.

The annual program brings together top minority students from across the country for an intense program designed to encourage them to seek judicial clerkships.

Students demonstrate their knowledge and research skills in a small group setting while interacting with the judges. Students also receive practical information from judges and former judicial clerks on how to secure a clerkship position.

Dean's List

Chang Yo Luh of Charleston and Emily Li of Mount Pleasant were named to the dean's list for the fall 2010 term at Choate Rosemary Hall in Wallingford, Conn.

Northwestern honors

Anna V. Boyer of Mount Pleasant recently was named with highest honors to the dean's list at Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minn.

The dean's list includes full-time students with a grade-point average of 3.65 or higher.