The Legislature elected Tuesday four members to the state's Public Service Commission. The candidates had been screened earlier this month by a Senate panel.

The commission's duty is to monitor utility and transportation companies with an eye toward customer satisfaction.

John E. "Butch" Howard was re-elected to the District 1 seat; Randy Mitchell, re-elected to District 3; and G. O'Neal Hamilton, re-elected to District 5. Swain Edgar Whitfield was elected to the at-large seat.

Portions of Berkeley, Charleston and Dorchester counties are in District 1.