Order inductee

Julia McKeachie of Charleston was inducted into the Order of Gownsmen at the University of the South during the Founders' Day Convocation.

McKeachie is a daughter of the Very Rev. and Mrs. William Noble McKeachie.

Since 1875, it has been an honor to be elected to the Order of Gownsmen, and through the years, the order has remained responsible for maintaining the spirit, traditions and ideals of the University of the South.

Duke degree

Jeffrey C. Bandy has received a Ph.D. in environmental engineering from Duke University.

Bandy works for Carollo Engineering and lives in San Francisco.

He is the son of Debbie Bandy of West Ashley.

Legislative pages

Girl Scouts of Eastern South Carolina had three girls accepted into the Girl Scout Legislative Page Class of 2009.

Kierra Jones of Charleston and Olivia Elswick and Courtney Huggins, both of Myrtle Beach, represented the council in Columbia. The pages spent a week assisting members of the South Carolina House of Representatives and Senate.

South Carolina Girl Scouts in grades 10-12 are eligible to apply for the program. Each applicant is evaluated for leadership skills, community involvement, interest in government and Girl Scout activities by the page program committee.

Honor society

Glen Joyner of Charleston, a Clemson University junior majoring in computer science, was inducted into Upsilon Pi Epsilon.

The national computer science honor society recognizes outstanding scholastic and professional achievements in the computing and information disciplines.

Membership is by invitation only. Inductees must have at least a B average in computer science courses and at least a B average overall.


A number of area students recently graduated from Limestone College.

--Adams Run: Octamiece Smalls.

--Bonneau: Margie Gaskins.

--Charleston: Brenda Bennett-Richardson, Monique Gourdine, Judson Rice, William Milligan, Kimberly Caver, Daniel Broomall.

--Goose Creek: Eric Zenero, Sabrina Varner, Jeanette Hounshell, Kenneth Robinson.

--Hanahan: Zulema Patteson, Clifton Woods, Jessica Lopez.

--Hollywood: Petrina Palmer.

--Ladson: Courtney Green.

--Moncks Corner: Norman Smith, Laurie Wilkerson.

--Mount Pleasant: Jacqulyn Brown, Randall Griffin.

--North Charleston: Kimberly Gadsden, Susan Knight, Carissa Welsh, Keren Kearney, Amanda Lear, Shelia Middleton, Rhonda Long, Jesse Jennings, Sonya Stark-Burns, LaTish Gilliard.

--Summerville: Lakeisha Thomas, Mattie Mitchell, Ian Barker, Christina Pearce, Carolynn Milam.

--Walterboro: Diane Hardy, Emily Mitchell.

Converse honors

A number of local students made the dean's list at Converse College.

To be eligible for the honor, students are required to be full-time and have no incomplete grades in that term.

First-year freshmen must have a minimum grade point average of 3.4 while other students must have a 3.6 grade point average.

Local students include Mallory J. Begley of Summerville, Nicole M. Dumouchel of North Charleston, Krystal M. Jackson of Moncks Corner, Kaki Johnson and Elizabeth A. Rodelsperger, both of Johns Island, Robin L. O'Malley of Hollywood and Amanda Stevens of Walterboro.

Springfield grads

The following local students have earned degrees in human services from Springfield College in Massachusetts.

--Alma Cobb of Charleston, Master of Science.

--Evelyn Gregg of Mount Pleasant, Bachelor of Science.

--Patricia Topka of Mount Pleasant, Bachelor of Science.