Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
top story

Horry-Georgetown Technical College president named chair of state college board

President Marilyn Fore (copy)

Horry-Georgetown Technical College President Marilyn Fore discusses education opportunities with Georgetown community members. File/Staff

CONWAY — The president of Horry-Georgetown Technical College has been selected to lead The Council of Presidents for the S.C. Commission on Higher Education, a board composed of chief executive officers from each of the more than 30 public colleges and universities across the state.

HGTC President Marilyn “Murph” Fore takes over as chair of the council this month from University of South Carolina Beaufort Chancellor Al Panu. Her term will run through June 2023.

Leadership of the Council of Presidents rotates annually between the state’s technical colleges and four-year universities.

“Higher education institutions are in good hands due to the dedication, leadership, and vision of my fellow presidents in the colleges and universities of South Carolina,” Fore said in a news release. “It is our mission to forge a strong sense of unity and purpose to promote the value of a postsecondary education for the economic, social and cultural development in our state.”

According to its bylaws, the council’s mission is to advance collaboration, cooperation, innovation and efficiency across the state’s system of higher education in various ways including: advising the Commission on Higher Education on issues, policy and other matters; and providing a forum for discussing the mutual needs and concerns facing public postsecondary education in South Carolina.

Fore has been the president of HGTC since 2017, but her career at the Conway-based college has spanned decades, including stints as an economics professor, academic dean and the senior vice president.

Before that, Fore was an assistant librarian and audio-visual aids coordinator at the former Choppee High School in Georgetown County.

In 2021, she was presented with the Order of the Palmetto by Gov. Henry McMaster, the state’s highest civilian honor awarded to citizens for extraordinary lifetime service and achievements of national or statewide significance.

Today more than 7,000 students annually attend the state’s fourth-largest technical college that has added two additional campuses since its founding — one in Georgetown and the other in Myrtle Beach on the former Air Force base.

Both the Conway and Georgetown campuses recently opened advanced manufacturing training facilities and a recent expansion of the Myrtle Beach campus made it largest in terms of physical size.

Sign up for weekly roundups of our top stories, news and culture from the Myrtle Beach area. This newsletter is hand-curated by a member of our Myrtle Beach news staff.

Follow Richard Caines on Twitter at @rickcaines