Renan Uflacker, a former doctor at the Medical University of South Carolina, was honored posthumously on April 3 by a group in British Columbia.

The Society of Interventional Radiology honored Uflacker with the Foundation Leaders in Innovation Award.

Uflacker joined the Department of Radiology in 1993 and served as a professor and director of the Division of Vascular and Interventional Radiology until his death in 2011.

Anjee Davis, the president of the Fight Colorectal Cancer, was honored last week at the Laurel Awards, a ceremony that recognizes individuals for national leadership.

Davis was awarded for her public health work and for establishing South Carolina as a “national leader in efforts aimed at reducing the incidence and mortality of colorectal cancer.”

The Medical University of South Carolina is bringing its weight loss initiative to telehealth so that more patients can participate.

The hospital’s Weight Management Center’s Focus program will now allow those who are not physically in the office to still participate in the program.

For more information, visit

Dr. Kerry Solomon has been named president of the American Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery.

The group works internationally to promote education and Solomon, an ophthalmologist with Carolina Eyecare, was recognized for his role in cataract and laser vision work.

Derrek Asberry